Eggs-cellent

Very corny title. I know. 🙂

I hope you had a wonderful day. Mine was mostly okay. I am feeling a little overwhelmed with all the changes I will be experiencing in the coming months. I don’t like to blog too much on things that bother me but to make a long story short, I have a lot of changes coming my way in the next 2 months with my move from the workforce back to school and all that it entails. I like to remain positive and I know that the end result is worth any upset/troubles/very hard work/sadness in the meantime.

Do you have any advice on how to remain grounded and happy when every aspect is changing?

Last night I got the urge to have a snack before bed due to the lack of food I consumed during the day. I reached for something that satisfied for sure: Smart Pop Popcorn! I ate an entire large bag all on my lonesome.

I love corn in all forms

I love corn in all forms

I also chomped on two of the four chocolates pictured below ( I actually just finished the other two pieces right now :-P)

I'll love you forever chocolate

I'll love you forever chocolate

I slept poorly last night with all that I have on my poor little brain so I woke up tired…..oh I could have laid in bed all morning. THANKFULLY, it is ALMOST the weekend! I know I am not the only one excited about this!

I am sorry to report I had the EXACT same thing for breakfast AGAIN: cinnamon raisin bagel and coffee. I don’t think I could ever grow sick of them. However, I really need to switch it up, my friends.

cinnraisinbagel

All the big bosses were out today so that meant daytime gym sesh!! My favourite! I had one of the best workouts I have had in a very long time! Oh man- the sweat was dripping off of me! Am I the only one in the world who loves this?

Best Workout Summary Ever:

20 minute RUN: roughly 2.7 miles

20 minute BIKE: 7 miles at level 10

20 minute ELLIPTICAL: at level 5

GLORIOUS!!

I was hungry for some nutrition as soon as I got back to my desk so I reached for some tasty, sweet canteloupe.thursday 008

 

I got hungry for lunch soon after and I got what I was craving: an egg salad sandwich for Tim Horton’s. It hit the spot!! No photos- sorry!

My first afternoon snack was a gigantic Crispin apple. I have no photo of the one I ate but here is another:

crispin

On the train ride home I pulled out the Tim Horton’s Oatmeal Raisin Spice Cookie out. It was part of the Egg Salad Sandwich Combo but I didn’t get hungry for it until I was en route to my place. It was really, really good and I really, really wish I had a picture. I forgot how good raisins are in cookies. I need to get to baking!

Since I was full up, I took my time and hit the grocery store and decided I would cook dinner for the first time in awhile during the week! I pulled out this cookbook:

thursday 003

Speaking of cookbooks, when people were viewing the unit yesterday, the lady commented that I “must love to cook” because I have so many cookbooks. haha It’s so true 🙂

I decided on Quinoa Pistachio Pilaf. Actually, I meant to make it on the weekend but today turned out to be the right time. (I will definitely post the recipe in my Recipe Box)

Here is the recipe in pictures:

the ingredients

the ingredients

veggies

veggies

veggies + quinoa + broth

veggies + quinoa + broth

final product

final product

Oh and I snacked on a few of these while cooking:

thursday 005

I knew some added veggies were needed so I made a salad to go with the Quinoa Pistachio Pilaf. The salad included baby spinach, sweet orange pepper, tomatoes, scallions, and blueberries tossed with Kraft Roasted Red Pepper & Parmasen Dressing. Yum!

thursday 009

For my fellow bloggers, how long does it take you to write a post? Do you just concentrate on it?

I usually have the television on and I may also have a snack when I post so it takes me upwards to an hour sometimes. Tonight I have snacked on some sugary goodness:

ice cream

ice cream

Jelly Belly!! (Soon I will have one if I keep eating these)

Jelly Belly!! (Soon I will have one if I keep eating these)

Well relaxation time 🙂

Sweet dreams all

Published in: on June 11, 2009 at 8:29 pm  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/06/11/eggs-cellent/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hang in there with the changes girl.. i know they are hard to accept but i try to remind myself that with change comes growth and through enduring difficult transitions we become stronger and learn important lessons.. everything will work itself out =)

  2. My popcorn frenzy rubbed off on you lol

  3. I hope everything works out for you (and I know it will..) It’s funny, last night I ate popcorn and had two pieces of chocolate too! I had two Bliss chocolates, no Hershey’s, but that’s ironic! The Quinoa dish looks amazing.

    How long does it take me to write a post? It depends on the post. I actually start mine a couple days ahead, then just add to it throughout the days (since I post every other day). I don’t post about everything I do/eat during the day, it’s mainly just random! All in all it takes about 1-2 hours I guess.

  4. I have similar thoughts/worries as I am thinking about going back to school in the fall. It will simply change everything and it is very scarey. I haven’t committed yet, but need to make a decision soon.

    It usually takes around an hour. I do try to get everything pre-dinner drafted at work (which usually takes 15 minutes) so it is a lot quicker at home.

  5. Hang in there girlie! I’m scared to, not moving from work to work but school abroad to school at home. The transition won’t be easy but I’m sure that we’ll both get through it with flying colors. Let me know if you ever need any support 🙂

    P.S. Thanks for reminding me about quinoa, it looks delish!

  6. So glad it’s Friday!

    Is that bacon, raisins and scallions in the Quinoa?

  7. As far as staying grounded, I’d focus on the positives of these changes. How are you going to benefit from these new experiences? If you look foward to this new chapter in your life and stay positive, you’ll have a much easier time easing into the new lifestyle. Also, try to find someone to talk to and share your feelings with. Even if it’s just pouring out your thoughts on the blog, don’t keep things bottled up! Good luck!

    Haha, I know how you feel about posts taking a while. I always try so hard to make mine sound upbeat and positive while still sharing all my thoughts and reactions throughout the day. However, I think blogging is TOTALLY worth the extra time. I get to share my thoughts and meet wonderful new people! 🙂

    Enjoy your Friday!

  8. Oh my gosh–I love cinnamon raisin bagels! That is definitely my favorite bagel with honey nut cream cheese. Warm and toasted. Nothing better!

    I love your blog and thank you for inspiring me!

  9. For me, when everything around me is changing, I just try to get EXCITED about it…there is no reason to fear the unknown, when it is unknown, if that makes sense at all. Think of it as a new beginning, and meanwhile take comfort in things that AREN’T gonna ever change…like your passions, the little things you are grateful for like your friends and family, etc. Hang on there. Most of our fears are unaccounted for. You’re gonna be just fine.
    And it takes me abt 30 minutes to write my post, sometimes more, sometimes less. Depends on the amount of content I try to pile on each post. I get really greedy, though, which explains my long-windedness.
    Your quinoa pistachio pilaf looks freaking awesome!!!

  10. Yum it all looks so good! About going back to school, I think you’ll just have to look at the positive rather than the negatives 🙂 You’ll meet some new people, have a more relaxed schedule which you can mold to your own liking, and (hopefully) you’ll find the field of work that you love! 🙂 Good luck with everything 🙂


Leave a Reply

