Feed ME!

Today was a test of my will. Because I had an ultrasound exam at 1pm, I had to fast. All morning I dreamt of food. All morning my stomach growled. I was NOT a happy camper. To top it off, I had to guzzle GALLONS of water and ensure my bladder was full for the first of three ultrasounds. I don’t want to go on and on but the tests were not the most pleasant 45 minutes of my life but alas my health is more important than less than an hour of discomfort.

By the time I got out of the appointment, I wasn’t overly hungry because I hadn’t eaten for so long but I was craving mega-carbs so guess what I got?? THat’s right: a cinnamon raisin bagel! I also got one of Tim Horton’s yummy Creamy Vanilla Yogurt! I added my own raspberries to the yogurt to get some fruit in. No photos- sorry guys.

It filled me right up because my stomach was so empty. Later on I had a banana. I love bananas!

friday 005

I was in a good mood despite my not so good day. It was super quiet at work today, which was nice. 🙂 I had some minor things to deal with but nothing over the top.

On my way home I needed a treat so I had a bag of Rold Gold Pretzels & a Diet Coke.

I munched on the treat while I read my new wonderful book:

Miriam Toews- The Flying Troutmans

Miriam Toews- The Flying Troutmans

I read one of Miriam’s other books entitled A Complicated Kindness awhile back and it was really good. I saw this book on the weekend and I picked it up without even reading the description. I think this book is even better. You know a book is good when you get lost in the story and you feel like you are there. I highly recommend this book to all of you fellow readers. I adore reading so much! Mom, if you are reading this, I will give you this book when I am done 🙂

Do you have an excellent book recommendations? I love fiction and non-fiction alike 🙂

So when I got home this eveningf I had to wait around for people to view my unit. By the time the last of them left, it was after 7pm. I was torn on whether I would work out. I knew I really wanted to but at the same time I was tired and getting hungry. Thank GOODNESS I am stubborn as hell! I wanted to workout in the gym in my condo BUT they just got brand new equipment so the place was packed! I hit the good ol’ pavement!

Run Stats: 5 miles, 41 minutes, 29 seconds, 8:17 min/mil average pace

Not bad, huh? I am not a late night worker-outer :-p

I was quite hungry when I got home! Dinner time! Something quick again unfortunately. Here is what I ended up with:

super salad

super salad

My awesome salad included: baby spinach, alfalfa sprouts, sweet orange peppers, tomatoes, blueberries, and sunflower seeds mixed with Kraft Roasted Red Pepper & Parmesan Dressing. It was really good!!

the rest of my dinner

the rest of my dinner

Continuing with the mantra “eat what you crave” I had a Garden Burger Veggie Burger  on WW toast with horseradish dijon, WW toast with peanut butter and crackers with strawberry preserves. I have one satisfied stomach.

I definitely need to eat something else! I am not sure what snack I will have….

Have a great night!!

Published in: on June 10, 2009 at 9:31 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/06/10/feed-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hope the ultrasound was ok! Excellent run today!

  2. Ugh, I hate having to fast, even for 4 or 5 hours! Your salad looks beautiful. As for good books, I read “the 6 people you’ll meet in heaven”…I think it was 6 people, maybe 4? That’s awful I can’t remember. Anyway, it was excellent.

  3. Ugh that sounds so uncomfortable, but like you said health is so important.
    Hope the tests come back okay!

  4. Oooo I have had to have an ultrasound like that done before. SO uncomfortable to have your bladder so full and then they put that cold gel on your tummy and press on your bladder. Grr 😉

    WTG on the run AND a yummy looking dinner!

  5. Congratulations for getting through your ultrasound nicely. Your meal afterwards sounds HEAVENLY! I need a good cinnamin raisin bagel. You seem to have had quite a productive day too – nice stats on the run!

    Much love,
    Rachel

  6. Emailed you!

    Lovely day!! Great run, as usual 🙂

  7. Great question: “what is the best source of fiber in your opinion?” I’d have to say fruits and vegetables, as well as bread or other products that have WHOLE GRAIN as the first ingredient.

    Some of the best sources of fiber are:
    Peas
    Sweet potato
    Broccoli
    Bulgur
    Whole wheat pasta
    BEANS
    Oat bran
    Oatmeal
    Almonds

  8. Hey thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

    Sounds like you had a great run today. I can’t wait until my ankle is better, and I can get back out there!

  9. OMG I had an ultrasound a week ago…I think I ALMOST injured my bladder, it was so awful!! I’m pretty sure it’s an unrecognized for of torture…

    I saw that book and was thinking of reading it! I just might pick it up now 🙂 Two books I recommend: The time traveller’s wife, and eat pray love. 🙂 Although you’ve probably already read them 😉


Leave a Reply

