I’m Bringing Healthy Back…

Hey ladies and gents! I hope your day was swell! I had FOUR pieces of fruit today! SERIOUS!

Yesterday was a really healthy eating day for me. Instead of stating all my meals, here are some of photos

inside of my lovely lunch wrap

inside of my lovely lunch wrap

Melissa's lunch packaged with love

Melissa's lunch packaged with love

yummy cantaloupe

yummy cantaloupe

I obviously ate much more but I have no photographic evidence because I spent 15 hours away from home…yuck!

I did workout yesterday too to release some of that old tension!

Monday Workout Recap: 1 hour on the elliptical trainer in a dead silent gym! LOVED IT!

This morning my alarm woke me up :-0!! My alarm never wakes me. I almost always get up before it. I guess I was mad tired even though I slept well and went to bed at 10pm.

I was starvin marvin when I got to work and was looking for convenience because I had things to deal with as soon as I got in so I stopped at Tim Horton’s for a cinnamon raisin bagel with a much needed coffee!! OH hell yeah!

my fave

my fave

I had a snack attack mid-morning! A colleague and I went for ANOTHER coffee!! I got a medium this time! I was tired guys! I also had this lovely peach (Fruit #1). I love peaches & nectarines!

yummeaaaaaa

yummeaaaaaa

So I didn’t pack a lunch and I knew I wanted soup. I went downstairs and got this badboy:

soup-garden-broccoli

Here is a conversation that ensued with my boss as I ate my lunch at my desk:

Boss with a krinkled nose: “That….that doesn’t look……..very good…..”

Melissa “It’s reallly good. It’s broccoli soup.”

Boss- blah blah about work stuff then “that smells bad too”

Melissa “Well I have to eat this healthy shit so I don’t die”

But quite honestly- it tastes very good!! πŸ™‚

I also had fruit #2: Golden Delicious apple

I got hungry soon after and had a Lunabar Mint Chocolate Tea Cake.

lunateacake

I also had Fruit #3: a Peach πŸ™‚

I didn’t want too much more before the gym but I wanted toΒ  ensure I had enough fuel so around 3pm I pulled out a Quaker Delights Toasted Cocunut Banana Macadamia Nut Bar! I LOVE these bars- so very tasty. I also had a small piece of chocolate.

Β 

quaker delight

Β 

I knew the gym would make me feel great so even when I waivered a little around 4pm, I knew the visit was a MUST! As per usual, I was VERY happy that I went.

Run Stats: 6.48 miles, 1 hour, Average Pace: 9:12 Min/Mil

Did you enjoy your workout today?

My post-workout re-fuel was fruit #4: a pear

I was hungry like a mother when I got home so I knew I had to cook something super quick for dinner but at the same time pick something I was craving. What I came up with: eggs!

my dinner

my dinner

Up top you will find an egg white omelette with sweet orange peppers and scallions mixed in, slices of sweet orange pepper, sugar snap peas, giant carrot disks, two pieces of whole wheat toast: one with peanut butter and one with cheese. SOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!

For dessert I had this Chocolate Fix:

I love these

I love these

I found these treats in the freezer section at the grocery store. It reminds me of a macaroon (it’s the coconut and chocolate- yum). They only have 100 calories and no fat I believe. Hits the spot every time!

So who are you routing for: Magic or the Lakers?? GO Dwight Howard you gorgeous specimen of man πŸ˜€

I will likely have another snack tonight because I have fast all morning. I have my ultrasound appointment around 1pm!Β  (To see what is up with my sore tummy when running) Not being able to eat until 2pm is going to KILL me! I’m one of those people who eat breakfast like clockwork. I already warned my colleagues I will be quite the crankster all morning! haha πŸ™‚

Have a great evening!!

Published in: on June 9, 2009 at 9:18 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/06/09/im-bringing-healthy-back/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oooh, I had to get a stomach ultrasound for my digestive problems a few months ago. Skipping breakfast is hard enough, but they told me I couldn’t drink anything either. I almost died. I brought a huge bottle of water and a banana with me and was peeling the banana before I was even out of the ultrasound room πŸ˜› Good luck tomorrow! Hopefully you get some answers!

    PS, I always wake up before my alarm too. I think waking up to an alarm is a treat too! πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, definitely a healthy day for you! Those Chocolate Fix look great, do they really cure a much needed chocolate fix?? It’s hard to find a product like that. Luna bars are a favorite of mine, but that’s a new flavor for me! I’ll have to check those out as well…thanks for all the ideas!

  3. your wrap looks so good, girl! what brand of tortillas do you use?!

  4. Mmm I love fruit! I have no problem eating a weeks worth of fruit in a day, but tis the veggies I struggle with! I love all your eats actually.. I wish I could find something like that chocolate fix in my grocery store!

  5. I can’t imagine staying on the elliptical for an hour! What’s the secret?! I just get bored, even when I do intervals.
    Way to go on the fruit! I am the opposite…I need to work on the veggies lately!

  6. i just got one of those mint Luna cookies, but haven’t tried it yet. I’ve been saving it for the perfect time since I can’t find them here πŸ™‚

  7. I seriously have no idea what those green penne pasta or noodle things are inside your wrap. Are they shallots/onions? I really don’t know! BUt the wrap looks DEEEELISH! Also, you’re hilarious. “4 pieces of fruit. SERIOUS!” lol.

  8. haha I LOVE that it is actually called a chocolate fix.

    Do you get annoyed when people comment on your food?

  9. Arg, why can’t I find any of those delicious snacks here??? I’ve been meaning to try those tea cakes πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

