A Culinary Delight

Hi beauties! What a sunshine-filled Saturday we are having here in Toronto. That alone makes the day great.

 I allowed myself to get a couple extra hours of sleep this morning and finally rose around 9am. I had to head out pretty much right away to get some bloodwork done for my annual check up. I decided to do it this morning because I had to fast 12 hours and the thought of getting up extra early on a weekday just did not appeal. I am not afraid of needles per se, but having blood removed from my body with a needle is not my idea of fun but alas it is necessary. 🙂

Because the sun was already shining, I decided to walk to the lab, which took about an hour. I enjoy walking. I have always enjoyed walking. While growing up my parents always walked for physical fitness (and they still do) and I would often join them. I find it relaxing and a great way to either be at one with your thoughts or socialize if you are with friends. I didn’t have to wait too long once I got there and I was starving afterward! I headed up to Bayview Village (think poshy upscale shopping centre) because it was nearby to get some much needed coffee and bagel. I forgot my camera but it really wasn’t worth taking a picture of!

I was sooo delighted when I spotted a store that sells amazing cooking products and preserves: Kurtz Orchards. The first time I encountered this store was right before last Christmas when they had a holiday shop set up at the Promenade Mall.  Kurtz Orchards is  actually based out of Niagara-on-the-Lake. I am sure the American readers of the blog are familiar with that region but just in case you are not: Niagara-on-the-Lake is the absolutely gorgeous wine region here in Ontario. I also associate Niagara-on-the-Lake with  romantic getaways. haha

So back to Kurtz Orchards: they have such an amazing selection of oil olives, tapenades, jellys, jams, preserves, dressings, marinades- basically just fabulous things you can cook with! It is such a gorgeous set-up too! I probably spent an hour in there picking and choosing! I am a serious amateur chef. haha I was delighted to hear from the saleswoman that this location is now permanent! Now I present you with the goods:

cooking oils

cooking oils

Okay so the first thing I picked up came in a package of three! I could not resist these cooking oils made by Wildly Delicious Fine Foods, which happens to be a local company. It makes me happy to by local. The package contains Pro Cuisine Pasta Drizzling Oil, Roasted Garlic & Shallot Saute Oil, and Pro Cuisine Pizza Drizzling Oil. I cannot wait to try these! I love the ingredient lists too- short and sweet!

For example, the Pasta Drizzling Oil Ingredients: canola oil, extra-virgin olive oil, minced garlic, sundried tomatoes, basil essence, sundried tomato essence, spices!

Of course, Ms. Shopaholic did not just stop there.

oh this makes me happy

oh this makes me happy

Okay, I am pretty excited about all of these new cooking adds. Let’s go from left to right. First up is The Garlic Box The Really Garlicky Chili Lime Chicken Splash. I looooooooove garlic so I can’t imagine this tastes bad AND it’s also another local product. The Ingredient list is awesome: water, lime juice, coarse seasalt, roasted garlic, chili powder, cayenne pepper, cumin.  Zero calories of tastiness!

Second from the left we have Robert Rothchild Farm All Natural Pineapple Coconut Mango Sauce. Tell me that does not sound amazing?! This products comes to me from lovely Ohio. This is a product I am very much looking forward to using! Sweeeeeeeet!

Lastly we have Brickstone Fine Food Blood Orange Balsamic Cream. The very nice lady running the store said it was awesome so I am definitely looking forward to using it!  Also a Canadian product- the company is based out of Quebec.

*click on all the product names if you’d like to visit their websites- they carry many other great products!

So the fun doesn’t stop just yet…

wooohoo

wooohoo

Okay so this is another product by Wildly Delicious. We have here spice pastes! More specifically, it is Merlot & Garlic Spice Paste, Peppercorn & Merlot Spice Paste, and Roasted Garlic & Basil Spice Paste. It even came with a spice rub brush!! I can’t help but smile!  My tastebuds are anticipating some fabulous cooking now!

Lastly I picked up this:

mmmmmmmmm sweet jam

mmmmmmmmm sweet jam

So last time I encountered this store I picked up some jam, including the Kurtz Culinary Creations Strawberry Jam shown above. I had to get more because it is really very good!

I’ll be sure to review the products as I use them!

Needless to say, I was so happy to come upon the store! Before I headed home I hit up Chapters to check out the cooking section as usual. I ended up with two great finds:

I have a cookbook addiction

I have a cookbook addiction

I am really trying to make an effort to eat as naturally as possible especially after seeing Heather over at Hangry Pants’ challenge to weed out all of the unnecessary crap. I highly suggest you go check out the challenge. I can’t imagine it being anything but good for you! Anyway, with my new get clean kick, I picked up Super Natural Cooking bu Heidi Swanson and Cooking Lights’ Fresh Foods Fast. I am definitely going to look at these cookbooks thoroughly as I lounge this afternoon. I figure after two hours of walking today I don’t need to hit the gym.

I also munched on this lovely nectarine as I typed:

saturday afternoon 007

I think it’s about time for lunch! I hope you are enjoying your Saturday.

Do you have any cooking ideas for any of the new products I bought?

Published in: on June 6, 2009 at 2:20 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/06/06/a-culinary-delight/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OMG, ingredient HEAVEN! I can’t wait to see what you whip up with all those delicious finds. Sounds like some fun cooking adventures are in your future! 😉

    Augh, I just HATE needles, but at least it’s over with now. Glad to hear you got in a little extra sleep today… why not? It’s SATURDAY! 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your day!

    xxoo
    Heather

  2. My Sister used to live RIGHT around the corner from Bayview Village! It was literally a 5 min walk away, if that! Have you ever been to the Sierra Grill?? I LOVE the salad bar there!!

  3. WOW! Those oils look awesome! How fun to play around with!

    Let us know how you like that Super Natural Cooking Cookbook! It looks good!

  4. Wow, I’d like to come to your kitchen and take all of that please 🙂 I have not been able to buy any new fun ingredients/food products for a while, but you just motivated me to do so. I love the Rothchild Farm products. They have a dirty martini dip that is super delicious.

  5. blahh i hate getting bloodwork done, girl! I’m always there for so long because my veins always like to hide! notttt fun

    those oils are so interesting! can’t wait to see all your delish creations with ’em =)

  6. YOur oils scream pastas and sauces, and the strawberry jam could go for low fat/card fruit tarts or bars Hungry Girl has great recipes for those as well as Cooking Lights. I LOVE Robert Rothchild Farm products, I dont know if canada has Marshalls or TJ Maxx (discount clothes stores) but they also have home goods in there too and this brand and I always stock up! $3.99 or less usually 🙂

  7. […] (and they now have a permanent location here in Toronto at Bayview Village as I said in this post. That post also talks about the great store and some of the amazing products I recently picked up […]


Leave a Reply

