I listened to my body

Hi beautiful ladies (and gentlemen if there are any reading my blog 🙂 )

I hope you had a magnificant Thursday! My day was mostly okay. I saw my doctor today regarding the lower abdomen pain I feel when I run so he set me up with a few tests to see if we can get to the bottom of it! It could simply be “runner’s cramp” but it is so important to be safe than sorry! That’s big coming from me- a girl who avoids doctors at most costs. I actually listened to my (tired) body today and did not work out. I fully intended to run- I even suited up- and then I realized that running was in fact not a good idea today. For Stubborn old me, this was a huge step. I get sooooooo antsy when I miss a day of working out- especially with all the chocolate I have been eating. Actually my total intake has been more than usual and I like to compensate with exercise. Oh well- I’ll get back to it tomorrow. A day of rest is welcomed.

Because I saw the doctor around 9:30am, I didn’t pick up breakfast until about 10:30am. I opted for ANOTHER cinnamon  raisin bagel! hahaha I am such a ridiculous creature of habit!!

Are you a creature of habit when it comes to food? What is your stable?

So today I remembered I had my lunch in the fridge at work. Good job, Melissa! It was some of the leftover zucchini/sweet potato/onion mixture I made with some sweet corn. It was a very, very tasty lunch.

amazing lunch

amazing lunch

As I sit here, I am trying to re-collect what I snacked on this afternoon. haha It wasn’t a lot but I feel like I must list everything for the sake of my bloggerific style.

I definitely had a nectarine.  It was very, very good.

Oh and I for sure had some mini-pieces of chocolate. I probably had 6 pieces. *cringe* Sorry!! Mother Nature won ladies!! Plus I was feeling blue about the doctor’s visit. Not that that is ever an excuse but the chocolate just melted on my tongue. 🙂 Damn hormones!!

This picture TIMES TWO! Yes, times two!!

This picture TIMES TWO! Yes, times two!!

Lastly, with all the talk about Odwalla Bars on other lovely food blogs, I decided to pull one out and munch away! I opted for the Odwalla Super Food Bar.

Nutrition Information: 200 Calories, 3.5 grams of fat, 3 grams of fibre, 4 grams of protein, 25% RDI Calcium, 15% RDI Iron, 50% RDI Vitamin E, 25% RDI Folate, 10% RDI Vitamin C, among other things.

Great nutrition! Amazing taste! You can’t go wrong with Odwalla Bars! Yummmmmmmmmy!

I love me some Odwalla

I love me some Odwalla

So as you see, the picture is just the wrapper. When I don’t have an actual picture, I sometimes google “pictures of such and such” and a lot of the pictures that come up are from other food/health blogs that I read daily haha! Actually before I got off my lazy bum and took a picture of this wrapper, I googled it and got results of pictures from Tina at Carrots N Cake  and Jenna at Eat, Live, Run (two blogs I LOVE and read daily) among others and I absolutely didn’t want to steal their pictures 🙂 I don’t mind taking from official websites. I definitely prefer my own pictures but work is not condusive for taking food pictures- as I said yesterday, they will really think I have gone off the deep end.

Tonight I had a desire to make pizza again except this time I would use actual pizza dough. I often buy pre-made crust as it is quick and easy. The brand I buy is called Molinaro’s Fine Italian Foods Crust. I love it because it comes with sauce and in different varieties including deep dish, thin crust, whole wheat, etc. I chose to get thin crust. I am not huge on crust when it comes to pizza so thin is the way to go!

I used turkey pepperoni  again tonight. I think I prefer it now to regular pepperoni.

oh pepperoni heaven

oh pepperoni heaven

I threw on some sweet yellow pepperoni, mushrooms, tomotoes, olives, and pineapple.

isn't she pretty?

isn't she pretty?

Then I added some cheddar cheese and cooked it for about 25 minutes.

beautiful!

beautiful!

A piece for me?? Absolutely! 🙂

thursday 003

Is anyone else watching the Lakers/Magic game??

Who are you routing for? Since I am in love with Dwight Howard, I am routing for the Magic. 😀 Plus if they won, it would be a definite upset. Gotta love the sports upset!

Have a great night! Tomorrow is Friday!!

Published in: on June 4, 2009 at 9:29 pm  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/06/04/i-listened-to-my-body/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. aww hun I JUST went through all those yucky stomach tests because although I dont run, I too was having REALLY BAD pains for almost a month! It was redic and all a sudden stopped on it’s own too! Unlucky for me it was over my 21st bday so I didn’t get to celebrate. I hope they can figure it out for you!! Good luck

  2. Way to go on listening to your body and taking the initiative to go to a doctor just to check things out. It’s ALWAYS better to be safe than sorry when it come to your health!

    I’ve been looking EVERYWHERE for that Superfood Odwalla! I just love Odwalla bars… SO yummy and healthy!

    Loving the pizza tonight. AWESOME toppings!

    Enjoy the rest of your evening!

    xxoo
    Heather

  3. Am I a creature of habit…ummm YEA! haha Cereal, froyo and (at the moment) hummus/carrots! Can’t get enough! Ohh and PIZZA…especially when it looks like THAT! 😀

    I agree Odwalla bars ROCK!

    I have done that before….suited up and skipped it! But overall, I think it’s for the best!

  4. Oh my God, the pizza looks amazing! I don’t do mushrooms or olives, but it looks delicious.

    I get really antsy and downright irritable when I haven’t worked out. I hate that feeling!

  5. My week has been just like yours — have been eating more than usual and not working out as scheduled; forget and then am surprised that I left my lunch in the work fridge; chocolate cravings due to hormones, etc…

    Boy, I don’t know about you, but I am really looking forward to the weekend. I’m going to kick back with a glass of wine tomorrow evening that’s for sure (and maybe more Coffee Crisps, teehee)

  6. that pizza…oh that gorgeous pizza! my heart is beating like mad!
    do you mean food staPle? my food staple would be…oats! I look forward to it every single day! (3-4 bowls a day…obsessed, yeah?)

  7. I think its gso great you are listening to your body and taking care of it! I also avoid the doctor as much as possible but soemtimes you just have to take care of things! I hope everything turns out ok and you start feeling better!

    Your pizza looks so great! I love turkey pepperoni. I cant even really taste a difference anymore. I will be mkaing pizzas on Sunday and I think that just might be my topping of choice! 🙂

  8. Good job taking a break! You gotta give yo’ body what it needs! 🙂

    I’m definitely a creature of habit when it comes to food. If I like something, I’ll just eat it on repeat forever. Blogging kind of helps with that, since I don’t want to bore y’all with the same eats for a week straight (which I would have no shame doing if I weren’t photographing it all, haha).

    I gotta rep my hometown. Lakers, whoop whoop! 🙂

  9. Awww man, my blog didn’t come up on Google?? I just posted an Odwalla wrapper yesterday! Mine was the Berries Go Mega (with Omega 3). It must be an Odwalla kind of week!

  10. I hope the results come back favorable – or at least conclusive.

    I am certainly a creature of habit. Before I started bloggin I swear I had the same breakfast everyday for months, and before that it was the same everyday for monts, etc. 😀

  11. I hope nothing’s wrong with your tummy!!

    You are so lucky to have Odwalla bars where you live!! I haven’t seen any around here…so I think my next ones will have to wait until I go to the States 😦

  12. I’m totally a creature of habit. That pizza looks great, I just made a ton of pizza dough for the freezer.


Leave a Reply

