Dear Mr. Sweet Potato, I Think I’m in Love…

Good Evening my dear bloggie friends. I hope you are enjoy this lovely June evening. Despite thinking it was Wednesday all day, I am still pretty good. My friend Mike said it will be quite the wakeup call when I have to come in on “Saturday” hahaha Oh well.

Today was a healthy day. I like healthy days. It was high time I had oatmeal for breakfast. I had a chill this morning and I knew the oats would warm my buddha belly. I mixed a package of Kashi Heart2Heart Raisin Spice Oatmeal with Kashi GoLean Honey & Cinnamon Oatmeal and added about 1/2 cup of water and after mixing it together, put it in the microwave for a minute. Yummy yummy  yummy!

Kashi Go Lean

kashiheart2

The oatmeal kept me full all my busy morning at work! 🙂

I unfortunately did not pack a lunch today so I decided to go with my craving and had a 6 inch roast beef sub on whole wheat with veggies and cheese from Subway. It was very satisfying!

 

 

 

 

roastbeef

Oh my dear friend is coming for a visit any day now so my craving for chocolate is through the roof! In fact, I generally gage when my friend is coming based on my innate need for chocolate.

Does anyone else suffer from chocolate overdrive about once a month?

I pulled out 4 small squares of a Hershey Milk Chocolate Bar!! So creeeeeeeeeeeeeammmmmmmmmy! Yum!

yes baby!

yes baby!

 I was feeling better today physically after the half-marathon I ran on Sunday. I was itching to go for a run all day long! I wanted to fuel before the run during the afternoon so the first afternoon snack was the Iced Oatmeal Raisin Luna Bar. It was very tasty! I think it was my first time trying this flavour. I enjoyed it! I also love the nutrition that is in the Luna Bar and the fact that it is geared toward women. 🙂

Iced%20Oatmeal%20Raisin

 

About an hour and a half before hitting the gym, I had one additional snack: deliciously sweet green grapes! So good!

perfect fuel

perfect fuel

Workout Recap:

My energy levels were great going into my run. It felt really good to stretch out my legs with each stride. Unfortunately, my stomach was in pain again! I have come to the conclusion after talking to a few people that I must see a doctor. The constant stomach irritation while I try to run is highly, highly uncomfortable and inconvenient. I did stop a few times to settle my tummy. I still had a good run despite the stomach upset.

Run Stats: 6.58 Miles, 1 hour, 9:06 min/mil average pace

Does anyone else suffer from stomach upset due to exercise? How do you deal with it?

After taking my time changing and showering after the run, I got hungry and I wanted a post-workout re-fuel prior to getting home to cook dinner. I had a trusty Melissa’s Bar of Love II YouBar. Perfect re-fuel on the train ride home!

tuesday 007

Now on to my love for the sweet potato! So I had two sweet potatoes in my veggie/fruit bowl and a zucchini in the crisper and I knew something needed to be done! I chopped up one of the sweet potatoes, the zucchini, and an onion.

step one

step one

I threw the veggies in a skillet with some olive oil.  What wonderful scents!!

yummmy

yummmy

To add to this lovely dinner, I added some sweet corn on the cob, a salad with mixed greens, yellow tomatoes, sweet red peppers, raisins and raw sunflower seeds tossed in raspberry vinagrette. I also added some Uncle Ben’s Whole Grain Brown Rice. What a great meal!!

good veg dinner!

good veg dinner!

I have something quite funny to admit: so as the zucchini/sweet potato/onion dish was cooking and the corn on the cob was boiling, I was searching the kitchen to add other sides. The brown rice was easy because it was already cooked! Then I found a can of sweet corn and I actually opened it- completely blanking on the fact that I had a corn on the cob boiling on the stove! hahaha silly me! Needless to say, the sweet corn went directly into the fridge…

And as I typed this I was snacking on this:

heaven!

heaven!

Yes that’s the entire jar of peanut butter and the entire jar of jam. haha It was easier this way because I wanted to finish this post…I used Kashi 7 Grain Crackers to go with my yummy peanut butter and jam…

What is your favourite nut butter??

Published in: on June 2, 2009 at 10:04 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/06/02/dear-mr-sweet-potato-i-think-im-in-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just LOVE satuteed zucchini! It has such a wonderful flavor… YUMMY!

    And I’m totally loving the Kashi’s and PB. What a perfect snack!

    I’m definitely an almond butter kind of gal, but I love them all. 🙂

  2. Wow,great blog full of some gooooood eats! Thanks for visiting my blog, I hope you enjoy following me and my crazy life of food and health information.
    I’ve never had that flavor Luna Bar, it sounds great. As for the chocolate craving, I seem to have it more than just “once a month”, although it definitely increases around that time… My favorite nut butter? PEANUT BUTTER. I’m an addict. My favorite brand is Smart Balance, Crunchy (It’s extra crunchy, which I love).

  3. I wish I only craved chocolate at that time of month – I crave it every single day! Seriously, I probably eat chocolate most days of the week. But I try to do the whole portion control thing.

    I think seeing a doctor is a good idea – tummy issues which don’t go away aren’t worth suffering through! I sometimes have an upset stomach, but more when I eat certain foods, rather than as a result of exercise.

    What a great run! For someone who ran a half marathon, recently, that is sooo good! You must have legs of steel!

    Your dinner looks delicious – I had a giggle at the sweet corn gaff. Thats totally something I would do too!

    I love allll nut butters. I like my homemade almond nut butter best – but since my food processor broke, I’m loving an almond, cashew nut and brazil nut butter I recently bought. Mmmmm. Nut butter. What’s your fave?

  4. nothing beats crunchy peanut butter … and nothing beats eating it right out of the jar!

  5. Sorry I haven’t commented in a while, work has been busy!

    First, congratz on your half. I WISH I could have that good of a time, especially with bathroom breaks! 🙂

    I have a lot of stomach problems and cramping when running. Well, let me rephrase that, I only have tummy issues if I eat before running. That means I HAVE to run first thing in the morning. Good thing I enjoy it first thing. The cramping though, is a problem in about 1 out of 3 runs. Usually I just run through it.

    Oh, and my favorite nut butter is good old peanut butter – natural, chunky.

  6. I used to feel sick whenever I ran, but i’m not sure if that’s the same thing you’re feeling. I just ran through it and every run it got better and now I feel great! For some reason, I think it was whatever food I ate that was jumping around in my stomach, even if I hadn’t eaten in like 4 hours! Now I can eat even 30 min. before my run (a little) and I’ll be fine. So hopefully it’s like me and it’ll just go away! 🙂


Leave a Reply

