Toronto Women’s Half

Screw it. I’ll do the re-cap without the pictures since it is fresh in my mind ๐Ÿ™‚

So today I ran the first ever Toronto Women’s Half Marathon!ย  A Half-Marathon for women! What a great idea! (Oh and YES they did have shirtless buff HOT firefighters handing out water and Gatorade along the route!! hahaha AND a chocolate station. Can you tell women were behind this event?) To my understanding there were 1500 participants. I completely recommending making the trek to Toronto to participate or if you already live here, even better!

I will admit it: I went to bed last night completely and totally not in marathon mode. The last week has been incredibly stressful with life and work (I will spare the details- I am not one for going into details ๐Ÿ™‚ ). In addition, last week wasn’t the most nutritious week and with my sensitive stomach I MUST be very careful the week up to a run- eating very balanced and no refined, processed food. This did not happen because I had no time to cook and I was stuck dealing with convenience (I even had pizza! I am so not a pizza kinda girl). (As a side one of my friends/colleagues who works on the trading desk was running too! YAYย Sandy! And she said she can eat anything- in fact she had Burger King last night and NO stomach pain! I think of fast food and I get stomach pain! :-0) Anyway, I was so NOT in the state for an optimal run which was slightly disappointing because I thought this would have been a great opportunity to beat my personal best (1:48 last October) When my stomach wasn’t bothering me (it wasn’t the whole run- probably 3-5K in total) the run actually felt really good! I felt light on my feet and my strides were great! Damn stomach!!

Any tips??

Race Re-Cap:ย  The route was great! It was through park trails in the north-east end of the city near Leslie & Eglington. I wasn’t expecting it to be completely on paved trails but it was and I was impressed! As predicted, my stomach did NOT cooperate! I wanted to cry! It was either stop and go to the washroom or quit. Quitting isn’t an option with me obviously. ๐Ÿ™‚ So I asked one of the volunteers if there were washrooms along the route and her response was “pick a bush- hahaha”!!! Luckily, I grew up in the north and like most runners, have no shame. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I popped a squat! haha Shortly thereafter I had to go again (dammit!) but luckily it was right around the outdoor washrooms- yes!! SADLY- I lost 8-10 minutes in washrooms breaks. I know this based on the difference between my Nike Plus time (I stopped it each time I had a bathroom break) and my chip time.

My Official Toronto Women’s Half Time: 1 Hour, 58 Minutes

I see it as not being bad given the stoppages but it still irks me! I know I can do better! I know I shouldn’t be so hard on myself but I know I am capable of more. ๐Ÿ™‚ Next time! ๐Ÿ™‚

We got a necklace at the end instead of a medal! What a great idea! It’s cool too and it still says all the necessary race information. Check it out:

my medal!

my medal!

I’ll post pictures of me running onceย  I get them ๐Ÿ™‚

Now on to food. ๐Ÿ™‚

Last night I put chicken drumsticksย  to season in the fridge over night. I first mixed together a bunch of barbecue sauces (honey, regular, brown sugar, etc), ketchup, honey, and soya sauce. Before dunking the chicken in the mixture, I seasoned the outside of the chicken with seasalt and garlic mix and a cajun spice. I dunked each drumstick in the sauce mixture and then poured the rest over the chicken. I am huge on overnight seasoning to let the tastes infuse in the meat. This evening I baked it for over an hour at a very low temperature (200 I think) and the for another hour at around 400 degrees. Yes, it falls right off the bone with this method. Check out the final product:

look good?

look good?

It scents were amazing! I could smell it all the way down the hall! To complete my dinner I added some steamed broccoli, sweet corn on the cob, and beets. Oh the chicken was soooooooo freakin’ good! Such a great taste!!

such a great dinner!

such a great dinner!

My hunger has not deserted me at all this evening! I am still hungry even though I have been snacking on some Dove milk chocolate squares, an unhealthy Joeย Louisย (a Joe Louis?! Melissa!! haha), and something else but I can’t remember. I am still hungry! That run burned through a lot of calories I guess. ๐Ÿ™‚ I should have something somewhat healthy.

I am going to back to my Reduction in Nighttime Snacking Challenge tomorrow for sure if anyone wants to join me!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Enjoy your evening!

Published in: on May 31, 2009 at 9:14 pm  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/31/toronto-womens-half/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congrats on your race Melissa! You did great, despite the bathroom debacle. Oh, how that must kill…but you didn’t give up!

    I have to check out this women’s run in Toronto. My husband graduated from the Univ. of Toronto and has always wanted to show me the town. I should put this on the calendar for next year. It will also be a good opportunity to visit his sister who lives there now.

    In San Fran this October, I’m going to run the Nike “Run Like A Girl” half ‘thon that is open to women and men, but is overtly marketed towards women. All finishers get a Tiffany & Co sterling silver necklace specially designed for the runners.

  2. Congratulations on the marathon! I am in awe of you, I could never do something like that.

  3. congrats on the racE!!! that chicken look soooooooooo good too!

  4. Awesome job on the race!!! You were definitely a good sport about pushing through even though your stomach didn’t want to cooperate. I’m sure you would have regretted quiting, and now you can say you have accomplished a HALF MARATHON!!! How neat is that!? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Congrats on the race! You did amazingly well! I love the necklace. Thats a great idea!

    Its good to see you back to blogging too! I’ve missed you!

    Those chicken drumsticks look pretty amazing!

  6. CONGRATSSSSSSSSSSSS! Way to be a trooper with those tummy issues. You totally rock!

  7. I think that’s still an awesome time even with the potty breaks!!! May not have been what you were hoping for, but you still gotta be happy you finished!! Tummy upsets are my number one fear when running. Oh, and that chicken? Diviiinnee.

  8. Congrats!! I think it’s so cool and way more practical that you got a cute necklace instead of a medal for finishing! ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. Congrats on the half marathon! You thinking about doing the Ride For Heart next weekend? Not sure if you bike at all….

    Also. LOVE the necklace instead of the medal. it’s such a nice idea.

  10. Girl, I think you did fantastic considering the hindrances! I would have passed out or given up mid-run, but you kept on going! you’ve proven to yourself just how strong you are, and OF COURSE the next run is gonna be even better!
    congratulations on an awesome race!!!
    and a necklace instead of a medal is so much better…you can’t wear a medal except on that one day of the race!

  11. That sounds like such an awesome half-marathon! A chocolate station??? That’s awesome!!

    I don’t have stomach issues so I don’t really have any tips…Although I have to say that when I ran my first 5k, it also wasn’t optimal conditions…and my diaphragm seized up and I just ran through it and it’s been hurting ever since ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. […] was feeling better today physically after the half-marathon I ran on Sunday. I was itching to go for a run all day long! I wanted to fuel before the run during […]


Leave a Reply

