Fruit for Life

The sun is out and the temperature is perfect! 🙂 I hope you are all having a wonderful weekend. I spent a little too much time in bed this morning. I suffer from mild insomnia and generally wake up 5 or more times each night so mornings can be rough. By the time Saturday rolls around, a few extra hours relaxing in bed are sometimes necessary. I think I am hitting a rough patch lately because I have been staying in bed later and later on weekend mornings when I don’t have something specific to get up for. I dislike it and much prefer getting up earlier and having a whole day in front of me. Unfortunately I have a lot on my mind with all the changes coming up and it has been effecting my sleep.

Perhaps you have some advice on how to deal with mild insomnia?

I wasn’t hungry for a long time today because of all the snacks I had last night. I have no pictures 🙂

I went for a walk outside because it is so gorgeous! I stopped in at Winners and headed to the workout wear section. After reading Meghann’s post regarding sports bras, I was reminded I needed to replace a few. If you have not been to Winners before, it is basically a store where they sell brand names for less. The only downfall everything is mixed together in categories: dress pants, long-sleeved shirts, jeans, etc. etc.  so it can be difficult to find things. I’m tryng to remember the name of the American equivalent to Winners but the name isn’t coming to me…

I really don’t want to resort to drugs. I have tried the over-the-counter type and I really dislike the way they make me feel. I appreciate any advice 🙂

I found this lovely:

ADIDAS

ADIDAS

Unfortunately this was the ONLY one I could find in my size. It is an Adidas ClimaCool Sports Bra. The label says     “Stay cool, stay dry. ClimaCool is ventilation and moisture management for your body, providing optimum comfort and performance.” Whenever I buy a new sports bra I ensure that is make of wicking material like ClimaCool or CoolMax or whatever the sports line calls the material. It is soooooo important! Trust me: I have been running for over 8 years and a good, supportive, VENTILATING sports bra is absolutely necessary. I have roughly 15-25 sports bras but I must go through them and get rid of the ones that are passed their prime 🙂 I am actually afraid to go to the bedroom and start purging- it’s going to definitely be a weekend event.

I was hungry by the time I got home around 1pm after my jaunt outside. I knew I needed to have pancakes after seeing them on so many blogs (too many to name). I made three pancakes and chopped up a delicious banana to go with it. To avoid drenching my pancakes, I put the syrup in a small bowl so I could dip my yummy breakfast. I also created an amazing fruit salad with watermelon, strawberries, blueberries, and kiwi. Look how pretty it looks:

look good?

look good?

fruit!!

fruit!!

All together now:

breakfast? lunch? brunch?

breakfast? lunch? brunch?

Everything tasted really good! It’s such a treat to switch things up. The taste buds are always appreciative!

I think I will make this a slow-moving day all around. I will definitely take the day off from the gym because 6 days a week is plenty :-p I may go for a swim just to loosen you my muscles. I have some ideas flowing with regard to dinner so I have to look through some cookbooks…I’ll also do some mandatory cleaning but nothing major.

Oh and I FINALLY posted some recipes in my Recipe Box!! I will post the rest today and to make my life easier, I will post the recipes as I make them going forward 🙂

Blog reading time! 🙂

Published in: on May 23, 2009 at 2:36 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/23/fruit-for-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The sportsbra is cuteeeee! I usually have better luck finding awesome purses at Winners, than anything else.

    MEC actually has 1 nice sports bra (I had to buy three of them!) and I wear them to soccer all of the time, but I have miniature boobies, so I dunno. Anyway I need to spend more time there (at a few of the different store locations around here), because I once found a nike sports bra from there and it was AWESOME.

  2. i’ve never heard of “winners” before – sounds awesome.. i could always use a bargain 🙂 thanks for the hook up girlie..

    p.s. your breakfast is to die for!

  3. Three words: Yogi Bedtime Tea. If you can’t find it, the Celestial seasonings sleepytime is good, too.

    Yogi teas have been a life saver for me! I love them… the bedtime tea is really effective.. ;0


Leave a Reply

