I’m going to eat the vending machine!

Friday spells relief. Friday means freedom. I love Fridays. Can you tell? 🙂

Do you want to know just how crazy investment bankers are?? Let me tell you how crazy investment bankers are. 🙂 (oh and you should absolutely read Monkey Business: Swinging Through the Wall Street Jungle even if really don’ t care for anything banking- the book is so hilarious AND sadly pretty factual). Anyway back to my crazy investment bankers. Investment bankers work long hours. They work around the clock and pull all-nighters on a regular basis but I will not rant about how inhumane that is right now. My point is that working a million hours a week breeds insanity.

This weeks investment bankers insanity: challenge three coop student bankers to race to see who could eat one thing each from the vending machine?! If you are not familiar with what is in a standard vending machine, it is straight up CRAP. hahaha In our vending machine there are a total of 45 items including 15 bags of chips, a myriad of chocolate bars and really crappy crap like 3 packs of Halls! I even took the liberty of adding it up and it was well over 13,000 Calories. Word got around quickly that these three young lads were participating in the crazy (silly) contest. Here are the goods: the head of the investment bank even got wind of the situation and said he would give $100 to the guy who could eat the most in the first 15 minutes. The remainder of the booty ($900) was coming from a bunch of the bankers and would be given to the guy who ate everything the fastest (oh and they had to do it between the hours of 10am- 6pm). A very large crowd gathered in a boardroom to watch the first 15 minutes go down and boy did they shovel it in. Needless to say these guys were looking more and more like crap as they ate more and more junk. I could see the glaze in the eyes and apparently the M&A coop had a bit of a nose bleed situation. Ironically, he ended up winning.

Now is that crazy or what?! Work and no sleep obviously leads to crazy behaviour.

Moral of the story: if you are ever challenged to eat your weight in food, for the love of God don’t do it! Go to bed instead because you need some serious sleep. LOL

Okay- I had to share that story with you. I am truly going to miss the bank for stories like the above. 🙂

My eats were pretty boring until dinner came around.

Breakfast was another plain cinnamon raisin bagel from Tim Horton’s. Unfortunately we didn’t make it to the patio so I had a Ham Sub from Subway. See, boring!!

I had two bars throughout the day which included the Quaker Delights Dark Chocolate Raspberry Almond and a Chocolate Raspberry LunaBar. Both are amazing. I particularly love everything Lunabar because the nutritional information is phenomenal and is geared toward women. For example, the bar I had has 35% of the recommended daily intake of calcium and 30% of recommended daily intake of iron. The list goes on. I suggest clicking the link above and checking it out.

Quaker Delights

Quaker Delights

Luna for Women

Luna for Women

I also cracked into some more dark chocolate. I branched out into something entirely new: a mini Green & Black’s Organic Dark Chocolate with Orange & Spices: Maya Gold. Oh so amazing! So creamy and so full of flavour!! The Green & Black’s Organic chocolate line is fabulous! This is my first time trying this particular flavour and I absolutely recommend it. I found these cute little mini bars at a health food store in the tower my office is in. I am all about compact sizes to prevent from eating a giant bar. 🙂

very good

very good

So I had a lot to burn off when I got to the gym around 4pm. haha I was very much in the mood for a run. Because I was under a time limit and could only fit in a 50 minute run, I increased the speed to work on my speedwork. It felt so very good. I was dripping sweat. I enjoy dripping sweat.

Run Stats: 50 minutes, 5.64 miles, 8:04 Min/Mil

And the reason for the time constraint: I had an appointment for a massage!! It was long overdo!! Oh man did it feel great! Unfortunately it was only for half an hour because I didn’t think to book it until this afternoon (I booked an hour long one for next week). The masseuse focused on my pack, shoulders and neck. I pretty much fell asleep. I kind of come of the massage disoriented on the best of days. haha It was just what I needed though… 🙂

I stopped at the grocery store  on my way home and picked up some fabulous items:

Grocery Shop Friday

Grocery Shop Friday

Up top you will find: chicken breast, turkey breast (Susan of Trying for a Tri recommended the brand- Susan did I grab the right one? There were so many to choose from hehehe), sweet red peppers, giant carrots, sweet corn on the cob, a zucchini, a sweet potato, 2 bananas, a Fuji apple, some watermelon (finally!), yellow tomatoes, sugar snap peas, a whole wheat grain bun, Good Karma Frozen Dessert, and lastly Soy Delicious Peanut Butter & Chocolate Soy Ice Cream (a new find)!!

I was very BAD because I also picked up a package of Jelly Belly Jelly Beans. I am sure most of you have tried these delicious treats. It is uncanny how each bean tastes like the flavour it is supposed to! 🙂

What is your favourite Jelly Belly Flavour?

tastiness

tastiness

Yes, the entire 100 grams is now gone. OOPS! 🙂

As I was munching on these badboys, I made some dinner. I was inspired by Erica from Itzy’s Kitchen and her last delicious looking post of Pulled Chicken. Take a look at her blog- it’s awesome! I grilled a chicken breast after adding a little bit of salt to it. After letting the chicken cool, I pulled it and added some BBQ Sauce and Ketchup.

step one of the chicken mess

step one of the chicken mess

I topped the amazing multigrain whole wheat bun with the pulled chicken.

oh yes I did!

oh yes I did!

I needed some veggies in my life big time! I threw together a rather large salad with Boston lettuce, sweet yellow pepper, mini yellow tomatoes, avocado, raspberries, blueberries, and walnuts all tossed with a little splash of Raspberry Vinagrette.

a salad a day....

a salad a day....

I am so excited to try the Soy Delicious Peanut Butter & Chocolate Soy Ice Cream! I mind as well do it tonight because Monday means the beginning of the No Night Snacking Challenge! I am so also excited to see people want to join me on this challenge!! I am going to put some thought into this tomorrow and I will post some thoughts and goals and a general overview either tomorrow night or Sunday. Don’t worry- it won’t be an all or nothing type challenge 🙂 Let’s be real, those do not work for most people. Also I want to assure you that I don’t think having an evening snack equates to getting “fat” and there are so many people out there who can have a nighttime snack and healthily so. The problem for me is I go overboard and the best way to deal with it now is to eliminate it and then gradually re-introduce it. I hope others will join us on the challenge. 🙂

I hope everyone has a great Friday evening! 🙂 I want to catch up on some blog reading and watch 20/20.

Published in: on May 22, 2009 at 10:04 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/22/im-going-to-eat-the-vending-machine/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I definitely overdo it on the night time snack. I always start with just a little something and it turns into a meal. I think I have to eliminate food all together after dinner, but then I am not sure what to do on nights i eat dinner around 6 and go to bed at midnight. Ugh!

    • Hey Brooke- it looks like we are similar!! I will definitely do some research and come up with some great tips! 🙂

  2. that ice cream sounds fantastic, I never realized you were Canadian too until I read the tim hortons part in this post!

  3. Hmm.. you do realise that lawyers generally work super crazy hours too? You never know, your future might involve witnessing more of these vending machine eating challenges. I think our line of work breeds this kind of thing!

    I like the Green & Black’s Organic chocolate line too – and I’ve bought a few of the mini packs before. They are so cute! I haven’t had that flavour though. Is it very spicy? Does it taste a little like a jaffa?

    That pulled chicken looks delicious! Yum! And so do the Jelly Belly’s. I like the coconut flavoured ones or the PB ones!

    It will be interesting to see how we go with the no snacking! I agree with you – its better not to be too crazy severe about it (b/c otherwise, it wont work!)

  4. I overdo on night snack, and go to bed uncomfortably bloated, definitely…but right now I’m trying to gain, so I have to bear with it…I’m afraid it’ll become a habit, though! but I must say…I do enjoy night snacking, when I am all relaxed and doing something recreational.
    I like lunar bars, too. I esp love the cookie and cream, and the white chocolate macadamia nut…try those! you won’t regret it 🙂


Leave a Reply

