Let the Beat Build

Good Evening Gorgeouses 🙂

I am in much better spirits today. I have really come to the conclusion that I must relax because overreacting really gets me nowhere. I am also a natural optimist so I can’t help but look on the bright side of things. 🙂 The weather was soooooooo great today! It’s unfortunate when you are stuck inside on such a gorgeous day.

Breakfast was another great bowl of Kashi Heart2Heart Oatmeal mixed with a package of Quaker oatmeal. It’s a lot of oats in one bowl but it’s oh so good! I probably should switch it up tomorrow. I don’t want to bore my body.

kashiheart2

 

The oats kept me full all morning and I didn’t get hungry until after noon as I was longingly looking out the window and the beautiful sunshine. I had a delicious piece of chicken with quinoa and veggies. I also threw in some sweet corn on the cob and baby carrots.

better than anything you can buy

better than anything you can buy

Soon afterward it was time for a fabulous dessert. An amazing fruit salad with mango, kiwi, apples, blueberries, and raspberries. So good!

Don't I look amazing?

Don't I look amazing?

Other than work, the afternoon involved chatter about the 49 Million Dollar Lotto 649 Jackpot tonight! Yes, we bought tickets! Wouldn’t it be stupendous?! Ahhh the freedom. I would travel the World among many other amazing things!! A girl can dream…..

Snacktime required some sweet substances: a Fibre One Caramel & Oats bar and a Weight Watchers Caramel Chocolate. Sweet Tooth! So tasty!

caramel is amazing!

caramel is amazing!

sweet treat

sweet treat

I was fully pumped for the gym when 5pm hit! It was definitely a run day!

Run Re-cap: 7 Miles, 1 Hour, 5 Minutes, 9:17 Min/Mil

Not bad? Not bad! It felt pretty good from start to end. I have been reading one of the books on Women’s Running I bought on Sunday. It emphasizes the fact that when it comes to running we should all set goals. The goal doesn’t have to be running 5 marathons or running a 6 minute mile but the point is to set realistic goals to gain a sense of accomplishment.

What are your running goals? And if you are not a running, what are your workout goals?

I have always ran with music: now with an Ipod and before that a CD Player when the IPod came about. I love music. I find it motivates me, especially when certain songs come on. I actually find it difficult to run without. I can but I definitely prefer to have my Ipod with me at all times.

My favorite music types are R&B, Hip Hop & Rap– especially when it comes to running! Lately I particularly love Lil Wayne  and his song Let the Beat Build. Actually, I don’t know if that’s the name of the song but it’s my favourite of his! The beat is perfect for running. Love you Lil Wayne! 🙂

Lil Wayne, if you read my blog, I love your music! haha And I can cook you a healthy meal anytime in appreciation! 🙂 hahaha

What is your favourite type of music to listen to while working out or do not need music to work out?

On the subway ride home I snacked on a few Jolly Ranchers. My friend and I love to buy the giant bags of Jolly Ranchers in the US. They last forever!

mmmm sweet

mmmm sweet

I was craving sweet potato fries so I got right on making them as soon as I got home! I sprayed the baking sheet with Olive Oil Pam and chopped up a sweet potato and I spread the sweet potato on the sheet salted the fries and lightly sprayed a little of the Olive Oil Pam on top.

grumbling tummy

grumbling tummy

I coupled the sweet potatoes with a Gardenburger and some sweet, sweet ketchup! It was such a great meal!

sweet summer dinner

sweet summer dinner

I was still hungry so I had a nice bowl of Kashi Go Lean Crunch Honey Almond Flax with Silk Soy Light Milk. This cereal is so amazing!! I see in my comments I am not the only one to think this. haha Kashi makes such amazing products!! Love it!

I could eat this for every meal

I could eat this for every meal

Sweet dreams!

Published in: on May 20, 2009 at 9:17 pm  Comments (14)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/20/let-the-beat-build/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Those sweet potato fries look amazing! And that fruit too :). I am working on my grocery list, and just put sweet potato fries on the menu.

  2. Your healthy living is amazing! Thanks for visiting my blog. I love Jolly Ranchers! I fight for the watermelon flavored ones! 🙂

  3. Mmm your dinner looks great! i havent had sweet potato fries for awhile.. its time!

    Great job on the run! I have a wide variety of music on my ipod for running, but definitely hip hop and pop with strong beats are the best. MMy goals? The first is to be able to run a 5k in under 40 minutes. I know..thats probably the easiest thing ever for most people, but it would be big for my non runner self! 🙂

    I hope you win the lottery..if you do, just dont forget your favorite blogger! 😉

  4. Hmmm, I listen to pop music when I’m running, even though I normally listen to poppy songs VERY rarely. It’s a bit weird, but I like the upbeat, cheeriness when I’m sweating my ass off. 😉

    Your sweet snacks today look SO GOOD. Caramel ANYTHING is deliciousss.

  5. That fruit salad looks so colourful and delicious – amazing!

    What another great run! You’re amazing! I don’t think I could run that much, back-to-back. My knees can’t take it 😦

    My workout goals at the moment are to get 3 weights sessions in each week. I find weights really help my knee pain and I love feeling strong. I don’t really have running goals because I’m trying to give my legs a ‘break’ at the moment (that said, I have a race next Sat!). My best time running 7 miles has been 53 mins so I guess I’d like to see if I can get to 52 mins next Sat!

    I love working out to JT, rihanna, britney, lady gaga, pink – that whole crew! Anything that has a great beat.

    Oh, and if Lil Wayne ever takes you up on that offer, can I come around for dinner too?? 🙂

  6. I love jolly ranchers! They remind me of elementary school and I feel like I haven’t had one in years. Grape are my favorite 🙂

  7. Great looking lunch! I love corn on the cob- sooooo delicious. AWESOME job on the run- you rock! I love anything pop or upbeat rap for working out at the gym. When I run outside, I like to listen to the natural noises outside- no music!

  8. I LOVE jolly ranchers! Ah! MUST!

  9. I’m glad you’ve relaxed and are feeling better! I bet that 7 mile run helped, too 🙂

  10. Kashi Go Lean Crunch is DELICIOUS. I’m in love with Kashi everything, haha. Your lunch and fruit salad also look amazing. You’re right, homemade meals are always way better than anything bought.

    Looks like you had a great run! Seven miles is impressive. My running goals are just to stay in shape until Cross Country practice begins, and then try my hardest and have a successful season.

    Enjoy your day!

    Much love,
    Rachel

  11. hi there!! I just found your lovely blog and love it! I am a GIANT fan of kashi too!!! I just had one of their frozen meals for lunch and it was amaazing. Thanks for sharing your music ideas! I hope lil wayne gets your shout out. 😉 heehee

  12. LOOOOOOVE corn on the cob! I’m so happy it’s in season! 😉

  13. Nothing better than a healthier version of burger and fries!

    Hmm, for music, I only listen to it if I’m on a cardio machine, and rarely when I lift weights. I always have head phones in my ears when I’m running outside but I don’t actually listen to music — it’s just to block out the sound of wind! 🙂

  14. Hey if you like Lil Wayne’s Let the Beat Build, you should check out this video remix that I did with a live band! http://nyellee.com/wordpress/?p=190


Leave a Reply

