Smiley Face (or attempt at one)

Okay I am not going to lie. I am feeling rather blah today. Life sometimes throws curve balls and it can get really overwhelming. I absolutely know everyone knows what I am talking about.

How do you deal with stress in your life? Is there any food that you eat to boost your mood? Perhaps a exercise you turn to?

Thank you to everyone for your kind comments!! I adore reading all of your blogs! I could spend hours and hours doing it! 🙂 And thanks to those who read my blog and don’t blog yourself.

Breakfast was a standard for me on a work morning: Kashi Heart2Heart Oats mixed with Quaker Instant Oatmeal Cinnamon Roll. What an amazing combination! I also had a cup of coffee to rev the engine.

a staple

a staple

I wasn’t feeling very hungry at all today. I think I consumed enough junk over the weekend to keep me fueled for awhile. haha

Lunch was what I prepared last night: grilled chicken and a quinoa dish I slapped together myself. YUMMY!!

Melissa's Packaged Lunches Incorporated

Melissa's Packaged Lunches Incorporated

Not to long after I had my first afternoon snack: homemade fruit salad consisting of: blueberries, mangos, kiwis, and apples! Very good!

I love fruit

I love fruit

Closer to 4pm I was craving another snack so I had a Fibre One Oats & Caramel Bar with a coffee. The bar is sooooooooooo good!! I love the caramel– so tasty! And the bar is super chewy! I highly recommend it!

great bar!

great bar!

I got stuck at work until 7:30pm BUT I was determined to hit the gym because my spirits needed to be lifted. A workout ALWAYS helps. I believe it’s partly the science: the release of endorphins.

Workout Recap: 1 hour on the elliptical at a level 5- quick pace, 685 cals burns

The workout felt mostly good. I was getting hungry because it was soooo late. I am not a fan of eating so late but I really needed the gym today.

On the way home I had a Sun-Ripe Fruit Source Bar. I really like these- especially after a workout! The perfect amount of sweet! Plus the nutition on the bars is great! The bar has 130 calories, 3 grams of fibre, 0 grams of fat, and 40% of your vitamin c intake for the day! Not bad!

fruitsource

I had to slap dinner together tonight since it was so late when I walked through the door. I took a Dempster’s Spinach Wrap and topped it with tomato sauce, mushrooms, sweet yellow peppers, grape tomatoes, turkey pepperoni, herbs, and fat free cheddar cheese.

so good

so good

Regardless of the hour I got in, I still wanted some more food. I am assuming it’s because of my late night workout.

I had two additional things:

a) Breyer’s Fat Free Double Churned Strawberry Ice Cream

I scream

I scream

The verdict: It was okay. Not great. I have had better fat free ice creams or frozen yogurts. Breyers Light and Breyers Full Fat are so much better!!

b) Kashi Go Lean Crunch Cereal Honey Almond Flax with Light Soy Milk: very good! I barely had enough to mention (probably 1/4 to 1/2 a cup)  but for the sake of the blog I figure I should document all that I eat. This cereal is AMAZING! I think it’s my new favourite!

my new favourite

my new favourite

Now it is well past my bedtime! I am wound up from stress but I think I should head to bed.

Have a wonderful evening! Sweet dreams!

Published in: on May 19, 2009 at 11:06 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/19/smiley-face-or-attempt-at-one/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks so much for your comment! 🙂 I’m sorry you had a blah kind of day; those are totally the worst. Chatting with a friend or exercising (like you did) helps! Or I listen to some music while sitting outside (if the weather is good).

    I had never seen those Sun Ripe Fruit Source bars until like two hours ago when I went to a Vons market in my hometown. And then I just saw them for a second time right now on your blog! What a crazy coincidence. 😛

  2. I’m sorry you’re having a bit of a downer day 😦 It will pass, tomorrow will be better!
    That Kashi cereal is my favorite in the ENTIRE world! I always sneak a box back from CA to England when I go home to visit.

  3. Hun, I have soooo many ‘blah’ days they sometime all roll together into a ‘meh’ week. This has been the case for me for about a month now… it does get hard! I guess my point is, you are not alone.

    How do I deal with stress… well, the most effective things for me to do are (1) exercise – run or do something that forces me to think of nothing other than what I’m doing in that moment. On that note, your workout today was intense (amazing calorie burn!!) Did you find it helped relax you a bit? (2) talk to my mum or my friends – they support me and make me feel more at peace.

    Foods to avoid:
    1. Tea, coffee, cocoa
    2. Sweet carbonated beverages including soft drinks
    3. Sugar
    4. Alcohol including wine
    5. Red meat and other hard-to-digest meats
    6. Junk foods and fast food

    Food to eat:
    1. Cottage cheese
    2. Oranges
    3. Blueberries
    4. Almonds
    5. Fish

    Sleep well!

  4. I looooove the Kashi honey almond flax. Actually, I don’t even buy it anymore because it’s too dangerous to have it in the house! It’s a nice treat though whenever I go home and my mom has it 🙂

    I don’t like working out late in the evening either because it makes me so hungry before bed. Good work on still going though! That had to make you feel good!

    Honestly, when I get the blahs, I just accept them. I used to try to force myself to do all these things to feel better. But for me, a day of wallowing in my blah-ness gets it out of my system, and I find I always perk up the next day instead of just bottling it up. Hope today is better!! 😀

  5. hey Melissa!
    thank you so much for your sweet comment on my blog, girl.. I am so glad to have found yours – such beautiful food! Can’t wait to continue reading 🙂

    have a great day!
    Jenny


Leave a Reply

