My kitchen is my haven

I have some frozen dessert after my last post. Of course I did! I threw in some Dare Bear Saw Cookies. Oh what a divine combination!

tasty cookies

tasty cookies

I always get caught up in hours of cleaning even though I never intend to! cleaned out some food cupboards. I feel so good when it’s done but it takes hours!  I snacked on some All- Bran Crackers and Mary’s Organic Crackers. They taste really good together. The All-Bran Crackers are almost sweet and melt in your mouth while Mary’s Organic Crackers are full of seeds and goodness. Yum!

yum

yum

healthy yum

healthy yum

I also snacked on the organic peanut butter covered pretzels and raspberry yogurt covered pretzels. Soooooo good!

mondayafternoon 002

As you can imagine I was not really hungry after all that snacking. Wait- one last snack: a packaged rice krispie square.

Even though I wasn’t hungry, I knew it was best if I cooked because I wanted a few lunches for the week. I was craving some quinoa but didn’t want to follow a recipe so I did my own thang….

I chopped some: mushrooms, onions, sweet yellow peppers, and celery.

veggie-licious

veggie-licious

As the quinoa was cooking the pot, I threw the veggies in a skillet with olive oil.  mmmm so fragrant!

love it

love it

I added the quinoa to the whole mess.

healthy yum again

healthy yum again

I also seasoned some chicken and grilled it up with some amazing garlicy spices.

chicken

chicken

My fancy plate:

fancy quinoa

fancy quinoa

Everything tasted amazing! I added the perfect amount of seasoning to the chicken and the quinoa was perfectly infused with the flavours from the veggies and the olive oil. Don’t you like my fancy quinoa shape?? I LOVE IT! haha I added some sweet corn on the cob and some yum yums.

Now I must get my stuff together for tomorrow (work- blah! but at least it’s a short week!).

Have a great evening! 🙂

Published in: on May 18, 2009 at 9:05 pm  Comments (17)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/18/my-kitchen-is-my-haven/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. peanut butter covered pretzels!!! oh my, those could get me in BIG trouble!

    Love your “fancy” quinoa!

    • Thanks! 🙂
      The pretzels are sooo good! I love Whole Foods! 🙂

  2. Looks great! Where do you get those great looking bear cookies?

    • Hi Sara! I actually got them at the Vancouver Half Marathon but I have definitely seen them in grocery stores! 🙂 They are very good! I am sure you could make something far better though! 🙂

  3. Oh those pretzels look amazing! I am a sucker for pretzels covered in deliciousness!

    I love the fancy quinoa! I have never tried it, but I will someday! Yours looks great!

    I hope you have a great week!

    • Thanks! 🙂

  4. I tried quinoa last night for the first time!! (even though I’ve had some in my pantry for…at least 6 months?), and it was super yummy 🙂

    When I cook, I usually just throw everything I have in the fridge together 😉 I find that it makes some of the best meals 🙂

    • Awesome! Isn’t Quinoa amazing? Such a great food!

  5. Sounds like you were productive today with the cleaning – great work.

    Can I just say, I didn’t even known PB covered pretzels existed! And now I feel really sad because I doubt I will ever find them anywhere near me! I will have to live vicariously through you 🙂

    That chicken and quinoa looks fabulous! How great is quinoa, I just love it 🙂

  6. I’m with you- I always feel SO much better once I’ve gotten some cleaning done! ESPECIALLY in the kitchen! I haven’t tried either of those crackers or the bear paws! I want them all now 😉

  7. love your ‘fancy quinoa!’ too cute 😉

  8. Ooo the covered pretzels sound divine, and I love your fancy quinoa! Lovely presentation.

  9. I love cleaning out my cupboards… you find some of the craziest things that you totally forgot you even had. It’s like a mini shopping spree in your own home haha.

    Cute plate! Dinnerware makes all the difference! 😉

  10. mmmm.pretzels!

    Excellent job on the run too!

    Thanks so much for checking out my blog! Look forward to reading more 🙂

  11. The best meals always come out of experimenting with our own tastes, not from a recipe. Glad you enjoyed it! The first time I tried quinoa, my sieve wasn’t fine enough and while trying to rinse it I ended up losing half of it in the sink, haha. Yours looks delicious though!

    Thanks so much for the sweet comment on my blog.

    Much love,
    Rachel

  12. I have a box of those Mary’s crackers in my cupboard but still haven’t tried them! You just reminded me they’re in there. 🙂
    Glad to see another Canadian blogger – thanks for stopping by my blog!

  13. ok what wait PB covered pretzels???? OMG I need these lol


Leave a Reply

