Doggy Walks & Puppy Dog Talks

I promised myself I would never be one of those crazy people who talked to their pets. That went out the window a long time ago! haha I carry on full conversations with my munchkins and I probably look completely cra-zay as I walk with them. Ah well. 🙂 Some people would argue that dogs can’t comprehend language or math but I will never forget one point in a forward I received recently: “If you think your doggy can’t count, show him three treats, and only give him two- do you think he will still be standing there waiting for the third one?” hahaha Yes!

Frozen Treat Review

So as predicted I pulled out the frozen treats last night, obviously just so I could taste test them and let you know how they are, not because I really wanted them or anything. :-p

The first product I scooped into my lovely bowl was something I picked up in the health food section of Loblaws.  I had never purchased a frozen treat in the health food section before and Good Karma Organic Rice Divine Coconut Mango caught my eye right away! I LOVE coconut and I was all over it!  Good Karma’s website points out this lovely frozen treat is dairy free and gluten free, which is great for people with allergies or those who just choose not to have such products in their diet. They carry a variety of products including soymilk and almondmilk. The Cocunut Mango Frozen Dessert has 150 calories per 1/2 cup serving, 6 grams of fat, and 1 gram of fibre. Unfortunately there isn’t too many vitamins and minerals.

my new friend

my new friend

Review: Okay, I think I am in love! As I said, I am a huge fan of coconut and you this frozen treat was infused with the marvelous taste! The mango chunks were also very food and went well with the coconut. It was perfect creamy even without any dairy products. I suggest swinging buy the frozen healthfood section of your grocery store and getting some! Oh yes! 🙂 If you check out Good Karma’s website you will see the other flavours they offer. They all look good to me!

The second frozen treat had to include strawberries because when I got to the store, this is exactly what I had in mind. Loblaw’s carries a wonderful line called President’s Choice and they basically make everything you can think of. I am particularly fond of the President’s Choice Organic and Blue Menu lines. Right away the President’s Choice Organics Strawberry Ice Cream caught my eye and it immediately got added to my basket. haha

yum

yum

Review: Unfortunately I could not find this product on the President’s Choice website but the website has a great section explaining their Organic line and why they chose to create it! I recommend checking it out! This ice cream is very good- very creamy- perfect amount of strawberry flavouring! The nutritional information isn’t too shabby either: 140 calories per half a cup, 7 grams of fat and 10% of daily calcium intake. 🙂

To balance out all of the flavour, I naturally had to add a scoop of my favourite frozen yogurt ever: Chapman’s Yogurt Plus Dark Chocolate Rapture .

Straight from the Chapman’s Website:

+2 Active Probiotic Cultures
+Source of Prebiotic Fibre
+Low Fat
+Source of Calcium

three kinds in one bowl? Yes I did!

three kinds in one bowl? Yes I did!

All this talk about ice cream requires that I have another bowl. 🙂

My snacking didn’t stop at the frozen treats last night.

Awhile back I found some gluten free oatmeal raisin cookies in a grocery store near my work called Rivi’s Guilt-Free Cookies. The package says there is butter, margerine, or oil in the cookies. Fine with me! I find the small treat to be very enjoyable and tasty. They have 80 calories per bite-sized cookie and no fat! The entire ingredrient list includes: untreated flour, oats, rye, egg whites, raisins, sugar, golden corn syrup, baking soda, baking powder, sea salt, and cinnamon! Don’t you love when you can recognize every single ingredient?? I still would prefer baking my own but these are great when time is an issue.

sweet healthy treat

sweet healthy treat

With Law & Order came more snacking. haha When I got my Roast Beef Sub at Subway yesterday, I made it a combo and picked up a bag of chips I have never seen before: Sun Chips Peppercorn Ranch. I knew when I was buying them they would make a nice Friday night snack and I was right! Yummy!

snack-filled eve

snack-filled eve

For the sake of the blog, I will admit to the last and final thing I had last night. Something with zero health benefit. I had two gummi bears and three gummi worms. Better than 20 right?? 🙂

the other ones were already in my belly

the other ones were already in my belly

For the record: I did have a bowl of frozen yogurt after all that talk. haha

I will be back later- just have a few things I want to take care of before I showcase my eats from today thus far. 🙂

Ohhh that rain sounds yucky out there!

Published in: on May 16, 2009 at 1:54 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/16/doggy-walks-puppy-dog-talks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. your reviews have got me rushing to stock my freezer! yum yum!

  2. Those cookies look so good! Oatmeal raisin is my FAV! I love it when you can pronounce all ingredients!

    I also love how you don’t mind posting things on your blog like gummi bears and diet coke.
    Good for you!

  3. […] kitchen is my haven I have some frozen dessert after my last post. Of course I did! I threw in some Dare Bear Saw Cookies. Oh what a divine […]

  4. […] dessert I had some of the Good Karma Organic Rice Divine Mango Coconut (click link for my previous review) and I crumbled a Melissa’s Bar of Love YouBar on top. I […]


Leave a Reply

