A Domestic Goddess

The sun is peaking! The little joys in life. 🙂

I wanted to have completed more tasks at this point in the day but everything tends to take a lot longer than I anticipated. It has been a good day. I think I purposely moved slower because I knew it was necessary. I am still a little tender from my training session. I have been smart enough to avoid the gym today BUT I will likely hit the pool because I like physical activity- I just can’t help it. I did walk my monsters this morning but I would like my heart rate to get a little higher.

This morning I had an exceptionally tasty breakfast. I was craving some fruit so I slapped together my own fruit salad with kiwi, strawberries, lychees and apple. I had a mango to use too but it isn’t ripe enough. It was good but the kiwi wasn’t quite there yet either.

fruity

fruity

I made some egg whites and added some whole wheat toast with peanut butter and homemade fruit jam and I chopped up a carrot to add some colour.

breakfast

breakfast

I enjoy thoroughly cleaning my kitchen Saturday mornings- moving everything off the counters and wiping everything down so I did that after breakfast. Now for the Domestic Goddess part: I had an urge to bake.  Baking makes me happy and I love to share the end result. I pulled out on of the gorgeous cookbooks I own: Nigella Lawson’s How to Be a Domestic Goddess 🙂

brilliant book

brilliant book

I was pretty excited when I discovered this book at Chapters. Everytime I hit the bookstore (and note I adore bookstores and could spend hours in one), I always take a walk through the baking and cooking section. If you watching the Food Channel or any other cooking channel, you probably know who Nigella is. Her recipes are very rich and decadent and let’s be honest, are simply amazing. Today I flipped to the page with the recipe for Sour Cream Chocolate Cake with Sour Cream Icing. Oh yes, I did.

I completely forgot to take a picture of the batter in my lovely KitchenAid Stand Alone Mixer (aka my baby).

ready to go into the oven x2

ready to go into the oven x2

I may have had a lick or two while baking. Actually, I had a few too many and now I am overloaded with sugar! haha It was marvelous! Perfect sweet. Perfect consistency. One disappointment: one of the cakes got stuck in the pan and it didn’t come out properly! Booo!! Take a look. Fortunately, it didn’t effect the taste. haha

oooooops

oooooops

Look how perfect the one on the left is!! Why oh why did the second one decide to stick?? Check out the final beautiful cake….I made the best of it

I still love you cake

I still love you cake

Would you still eat a cake that looks a little less than perfect?

I was in need of lunch after all that baking (despite all the licking). I had to use up the French baquette so I made a mini-pizza with turkey pepperoni and cheddar cheese. I also had some sugar snap peas and a mushroom ad some yum-yums.  I ended the meal with a few spoonfuls of the Good Karma Frozen Treat.

pizza break

pizza break

Oh and while I was baking, I snacked on some crackers and dark chocolate M&Ms.

As you can imagine, I am so NOT hungry right now. On the bright side, I don’t think I will actually eat a piece of cake because I tasted enough through looking my fingers. :-p

Look at this beauty sleeping beside me. Yes, she is using a pillow. My dogs are more human than dog sometimes.

my beauty

my beauty

Now: on to physical activity to burn off all that sugar I consumed….. 🙂

Published in: on May 16, 2009 at 6:39 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/16/a-domestic-goddess/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love Nigella! Her food is so decadent and special.
    Beautiful dog you have there!

  2. would i eat a broken cake???????? are you kidding? they’re the best kind! that’s what i love about baking, especially chocolate — it tastes amazing at every stage, from batter to undercooked, to cooked all the way, to broken. it doesn’t matter. always delicious!

    you definitely earned your domestic goddess title today!

  3. haha HECK YEAH i would eat a cake if it was broken. haha youre a totally a domestic goddess!

  4. […] give you one guess as to what my dessert was…. smiles in a […]


Leave a Reply

