Godiva Heaven?? I think so!!

A Friday before a long weekend is always filled with smiles and excitement. An extra day to not be at work sits well with  A LOT of people- including me. 🙂 Today was an eventful day: there were ups and there were downs, there was laughter and there were tears (okay so there were no tears but it seemed like the thing to say).

I was super-duper hungry when I got to work this am so I grabbed breakfast right away! I mixed a single package if Kashi Go Lean Honey Cinnamon with a package of  Quaker Oats Cinnamon Roll. What a marvelous combination! Mmmm mmm mmmm. I also had a cup of Tim Horton’s Coffee.

The morning was filled with plenty o’ drama: luckily I could sit on the sidelines for this episode and just watch. I got hungry at 11am so you know that meant snacktime! An orange was on the menu and I enjoyed ever morsel of it.

Sadly I did not have a homemade lunch for a second day in a row! Booo!! I made the smart choice and headed to Subway for a 6 inch Roast Beef sub on whole wheat with tonnes of veggies. Another appeal: I could get a super syrupy Diet Coke fountain drink with ice!! LIQUID CRACK!!!! I was really hungry at that point and I ate way too fast. haha

Now for my afternoon snack: so when I purchased Godiva Chocolates for my dear mommy for Mother’s Day, I also bought myself a Godiva Chocoiste Dark Chocolate Bar. Four squares of utter heaven!! I actually had two for a snack and saved the last two for my re-fuel after the gym. I think this was the smoothest, creamiest, wonderful dark chocolate I have EVER had!!  I am sure it’s so good because of all the cream and butter- so rich- and Godiva conveniently left the nutritional information off of the package and website. hahaha It really doesn’t matter because those four squares were worth it! Do you think I like this product and would recommend it? haha

amazing goodness

amazing goodness

I provided a wonderful source of entertainment at work later in the afternoon by literally dumping an entire Iced Coffee all over myself. My colleagues busted a gut laughing. I laughed too because what the hell else was I supposed to do? One of the guys was even kind enough to offer me the sweat pants he had in his drawer. The problem: a) he is a man b) he has like 70 pounds on me so not only would I have worn sweats at work, they would have been around my knees gangsta style and everyone would have seen my under garments! haha LUCKILY I had a pair of dress pants in my drawer from last week when I wore my gym close home after a sweat session. I beelined to the dry cleaner’s after changing because of course I had to be wearing light grey dress pants! 🙂 You’re welcome, office! haha

I had to picked up another Iced Coffee because I really wanted one and the one I had originally bought was all over my pants…..and the floor…..and my desk…..and my sweater…..and the chair LOL Clumsy? Always. I also had a 100-calorie package of Peak Freans– oh buttery goodness. I know they offer no nutrition but they taste so good once in awhile.

peakfreans

Workout Re-Cap

I’m not going to lie: today’s workout was forced. I was tired and felt a little tender after my one-hour training session yesterday but I really wanted to loosen up and sweat. I believe the L-Glutamine worked and I would have been a lot more sore if I had not taken it. I wouldn’t say I was sore per se, I was tender and certain muscle groups felt worked- especially my buttocks (aka booty, aka ass, aka glutes, aka bum, aka keester, aka caboose,  aka posterier, aka rear end, aka rotunt roundy, aka phatty (someone taught me that one recently 🙂 hehehehe)  from all the deadlifts, walking lunges, and glute exercises I did yesterday.

What do you call your buttocks?

Even though I forced myself to go to the gym, 40 minutes into my run, I hit a high and it felt AMAZING! It felt so good! I am so glad I went!!

Run Stats: 1 hour, 6.5 miles, Average Pace: 9:14 min/mil

As I said before in my glowing story regarding the Godiva chocolate, I had the last two squares of the bar after my workout on the way home. I must have looked crazy on the train smiling and glowing while I let the chocolate melt on my tongue.

I stopped at the grocery store on the way home and picked up some great things and mostly fruits and veggies. I love the produce section and I want to buy everything when I get there! Check out the goods:

 

 

healthy beauty

healthy beauty

 

 

Above you will find: strawberries, a mango, 2 sweet potatoes/yams, scallions, an avocado, sugar snap peas, 2 giant carrots, fresh mushrooms, 2 kiwis, some lychees, an apple, and a head of Boston lettuce

Here are the “other” goods:

you can call me sweet tooth...

you can call me sweet tooth...

Above you will find: Dark Chocolate M&Ms, a Cocao Camino Cranberry & Almond mini chocolate bar, President’s Choice Organic Strawberry Ice Cream  and Good Karma Organic Rice Divine Coconut Mango Frozen Dessert. (oh and a loaf of Whole Wheat Bread)

Missing from photo: Starburst chews  (6-10 of which I chomped on on the walk home from the grocery store–ooops!)

I am really looking forward to the Organic Rice Divine Frozen Dessert because I have never had it before. I think this Friday night is a good night for a taste test! haha Speaking of which, after I posted last night I had two snacks which included: a few mouthfuls of Dark Chocolate Frozen Yogurt and a small bowl of Rice Krispies with Soy Milk.  (see- accountability 😀 )

I will do a full review of the sweet frozen treats for sure! 🙂

While I prepped dinner, I snacked on some sugar snap peas. I was inspired by Susan at Trying For a Tri when she made Butternut Squash Fries the other day. I didn’t replicate her fries exactly because I decided to use the sweet potatoes I picked up today. I chopped half of a sweet potato into strips and put them on a baking sheet with a light coat of Olive Oil Pam. I sprayed a little of the Pam on top of the sweet potato fries.

To accompany the sweet potato fries, I thought a veggie burger was most appropriate.  I pulled a Gardenburger out of the freezer. Gardenburgers are by far my favourite veggie burgers. The texture, the taste, the full pieces of foods like barley and veggies, and lastly the ingredients. Check out the ingredient list:

VEGETABLES (BUTTON MUSHROOMS, ONIONS, CRIMINI MUSHROOMS, PORTABELLA MUSHROOMS), COOKED BROWN RICE (BROWN RICE, WATER), ROLLED OATS, MOZZARELLA CHEESE (PASTEURIZED PART-SKIM MILK, CULTURES, SALT, ENZYMES), WATER, BULGUR WITH WATER FOR HYDRATION, PARSLEY, CHEDDAR CHEESE (PASTEURIZED MILK, SALT, ENZYMES, CULTURES, ANNATTO FOR COLOR), CONTAINS TWO PERCENT OR LESS OF YEAST EXTRACT, NATURAL FLAVOR, MODIFIED VEGETABLE GUM, SALT, MUSHROOM EXTRACT, GARLIC POWDER, AUTOLYZED YEAST EXTRACT, SPICES, CITRIC ACID, MALTED BARLEY, NATURAL BUTTER FLAVOR, WHEY, DEHYDRATED ONION, ANNATTO FOR COLOR, DEHYDRATED MUSHROOMS, GUAR GUM, NATURAL SMOKE FLAVOR, TURMERIC FOR COLOR, SOY LECITHIN.

 

my favourite!

my favourite!

I also added some carrot disks, sweet corn, and grape tomatoes  to the plate and I put the Gardenburger a top a piece of Whole Wheat Bread with a little bit of fat-free mayo. Oh- and I added some ketchup for my awesome fries! Oh the meal was sooooooooo good!

the perfect Friday meal

the perfect Friday meal

Well, I am going to continue to watch 20/2o and have some frozen yogurt and catch up on my blog reading.

I hope you are having a wonderful Friday evening!

Published in: on May 15, 2009 at 10:17 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/15/godiva-heaven-i-think-so/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Diet Coke from a fountain is really my life’s weakness. I love it! I also love chocolate and that Godiva looks amazing!!!

    Sorry about your coffee spill! that would not be fun at all… lucky you for having pants in your drawer!

    You got some awesome goods at the store! I love seeing what people bring home from grocery shopping.

    Great workout today and yesterday too! Have a great weekend!

  2. Subway is always a good choice when you forget to bring a packed lunch! I wish there was one on campus at uni… there is simply AWFUL food there and even a plain salad costs about $6! Ridiculous! Packed lunches are a far better idea…

    The chocolate looks fabulous! I’ve never had Godiva but will try it. I quite like when food like that doesnt have nutritional information on it… Sometimes its better not to know!

    Oh, im sorry to hear about the spill. I’m the kind of person who would laugh at myself in that situation, would be crying on the inside because it embarasssing and, in my opinion, really not that funny. But it happens to everyone!

    What a delicious dinner too 🙂

  3. way to push through that workout until you hit your stride!

    so sorry about the coffee disaster. i do stuff like that all the time! you’re great for being able to laugh at yourself. i guess it’s all you can do in those situations …

  4. Your blog is strinkingly similar to my own, check it out!

    philabundanceoflife.wordpress.com

  5. […] Law & Order came more snacking. haha When I got my Roast Beef Sub at Subway yesterday, I made it a combo and picked up a bag of chips I have never seen before: Sun Chips […]

  6. That sucks about the coffee!

    I call it my butt.

    Gardenburgers used to be my favorite as well – pan “fried” with muenster cheese melted over them and down the sides until it gets crispy. YUM!


Leave a Reply

