I Deserve a Medal!

Thursdays are a great day of the week. I call them Almost Fridays….. 🙂

I feel really amazing as I sit here in type this. Let me explain the title of this post. It has been over a month since I have seen my (awesome, amazing) trainer Candice. She was travelling for a good three weeks and then I had a bunch of runs and I don’t like to strength train with her right before a race because she is quite intense and I fear pain during a run. Well, today was the first day with my personal trainer Candice in well over a month and I survived the one hour training session! Granted she knew to go a little lighter on me because it had been so long but the whole experience was exhilirating! She is such a great trainer who focuses on strength and core! She always switches things up and I never, ever bored (sore maybe but not bored) 🙂 AND THEN……I continued my gym session with 25 minutes on the elliptical and then 20 more minutes on the bike! I was DRIPPING sweat! It felt glorious!!

I honestly, truly believe that I cannot get better (and stronger) unless I push my limits. I love pushing my limits (as you can see from my workout logs on my blog).  I know that’s common sense and not earth shattering news. I guess I should be saying I am willing to push my limits and just become a better athelete. To be strong in body and in mind. This is my goal and I plan to never stop reaching for it. 🙂

* I was quite hungry when I got to work: just in time for breakfast. I had a giant bowl of Total Cranberry Crunch cereal with skim milk. I also had a large cup of Tim Horton’s Coffee. As I said before, this cereal keeps me full for so long and I love the taste.

Total-ly awesome haha

Total-ly awesome haha

* I needed a snack around 11am. I haven’t had as much fruit as I usually like to have over the last couple of days so I pulled out a Red Delicious Apple. 

*I didn’t have enough time to prepare lunch  last night so I was stuck either picking something up downstairs or eating the frozen dinner I had in the freezer at work. In the name of saving money (expensive, expensive law school), I went for the Smart Ones Creamy Rigatoni with Broccoli and Chicken. Now I am definitely not one for frozen dinner because of all of the preservatives and sodium but every once in awhile I have one merely out of convenience. I am actually a fan of the Smart Ones brand because they are pretty tasty- the one I had today was no exception. BUT as I’ve said many times, NOTHING BEATS a homemade meal 🙂

creamy and tasty

creamy and tasty

* I continued with the fruit train with my first afternoon snack and to top it off with something I have not had in a very long while: sweet, sweet raspberries. They were so plump and sweet! I truly love raspberries.

Raspberries (and berries in general) offer so many health benefits. I visited www.raspberryinfo.com to get some information to share with you:

“One serving (1 cup) of raspberries has only 70 calories but provides 50% of a day’s requirement for vitamin C, 32% of fiber, 6% of folate, 6% of magnesium,5% of Potassium and 4% each of Calcium, Niacin, B6, Phosphorus and Zinc . That 1 cup serving has only 1 gram of fat, no saturated or transfats, no cholesterol and no sodium.

Raspberries rank in the top 10 antioxidant-high fruits and vegetables. Antioxidants are believed to help prevent and repair oxidative stress, a process that damages cells within the body and has been linked to the development of cancer, heart disease, Alzheimer’s disease, and Parkinson’s disease.”

* I like to fuel for my workout around 3pm to allow for some digestion. I searched my food drawer at work and pulled out something I haven’t had in a long time! It was time for a Larabar!

so tasty

so tasty

I forgot just how amazing Larabars are!! So full of taste! And the ingredient list is unbelievable: dates, almonds and unsweetened cherries and that is it!!!  It really hit the spot and was the perfect fuel.

As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, I had a killer workout!! 🙂

*I needed a re-fuel after that intense workout. I had another large, juicy, sweet Red Delicious Apple. I decided I would do what I could to prevent muscle pain by adding GNC’s L-Glutamine Powder to my juice to prevent muscle pain. I highly recommend it- especially if you are like me and don’t train often and therefore are prone to feeling pain due to lack of consistent training.

Here are some facts about L-Glutamine right from GNC’s Website (www.gnc.com)

  • Glutamine is one of the most abundant amino acids found in the skeletal muscles.
  • Glutamine plays a pivotal role in the nitrogen balance in the body.*
  • Prolonged high-intensity exercise has been shown to decrease glutamine levels, which may result in glutamine deficiency.
  • Each serving supplies 5 grams of L-Glutamine.
  • This flavorless powder blends easily with any beverage or sports drink.

glutamine

*I got home late again and was hungry so cooking a dinner that took a lot of time was out. I actually had a product in my freezer that I have been meaning to try.  I pulled out my Aunt Trudy’s Organic Mushroom & Leek Fillo Sandwich. I knew this obviously would not be enough so I chopped up some of the massive carrot I had left and also added some sweet corn, beets, and sweet pickles to the plate.  I was pleasantly surprised with how the Fillo Sandwich tasted. It was full of flavour and needed absolutely no seasoning. The veggies also made my tummy very happy.

like my plate?

like my plate?

tastes wonderful

tastes wonderful

Well it is just hitting 10pm and I need something else to eat. I will be sure to report it tomorrow 🙂

One thing I was thinking about today: I never mention my water intake. I drink a ridiculous amount of water each day! I easily drink 4-6 litres. I find it dry in my workplace and have no problem slinging it back. I also drink at the gym. Water is amazing!!

How much water do you drink?

Published in: on May 14, 2009 at 10:02 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/14/i-deserve-a-medal/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I drink an obscene amount of water…. if I take into account my tea… usually over 200 oz of water. It’s 9:40 and I’ve already had about 60 oz.

  2. wow, congrats on an awesome workout!! one of the best feelings 🙂

    i love water, too, but i don’t think i’ve been drinking enough lately. must get on that!

  3. I’ve been wondering if glutamine would be beneficial for me. Since I’m only lifting 1-2 times a week now (instead of 3-4 like I was) I get craaazy sore after. I’ll have to look into it, thanks!!

    I easily drink 6 litres of water a day. I get really dry when I’m at work too, so some days it’s even more!!

  4. I drink a ton of water too, mostly when I’m at work. That cereal looks really good, I will keep an eye out for it at the store.

  5. […] on to a moment of pride: As I said last Thursday, I intended to push my limits and run big this weekend and my intentions were met this very morning! Let’s start with the re-cap of my outside […]


Leave a Reply

