Running with (errr against) the wind

Good evening!! I am FINALLY sitting down for pretty much the first time this Saturday- and it’s already 11:15pm. I hope everyone enjoyed their day!

*I got up pretty early for a Saturday morning (after a long week and getting up early all of last weekend). I think I rolled out of bed around 9am because I wanted to get a few things accomplished before heading to my Aunt’s in Mississauga  for the 10K and to visit with my family. I wanted something hearty for breakfast but  I wasn’t hungry first thing because I had snacked pretty late last night. After a few hours, I thought it was best that I eat something so I brewed some coffee (mmmm I love the smell of fresh brewed coffee) and had some whole wheat toast with organic crunchy peanut butter and homemade berry jam. I looooooooooove peanut butter so it really hit the spot.

crunchy peanut butter

crunchy peanut butter

After I had breakfast I got to work on making dessert to bring to my Aunt’s. I love baking- especially when I can bring it somewhere. I decided on cupcakes! Both chocolate and vanilla rainbow bits.

so sweet

so sweet

sweet anticipation

sweet anticipation

scrumptious!

scrumptious!

And I got to pull out my portable cupcake/cake carrier to bring some to my Aunt’s house! I love this carrier! 🙂 haha (something wrong with me when a cupcake carrier gets me excited?? Perhaps! haha)

tell me this looks good

tell me this looks good

I may have had a like or two of the batter and icing but I can’t remember :-p

*Before heading to my Aunt’s house, I wanted to eat some lunch to ensure I was properly fueled for the 10K Run. I threw together a plate with the rest of my Dempster’s Spinach Wrap with cheese, some oven roasted turkey breast, snow peas, a carrot and some Bick’s Yum Yum Pickles (yum yum). I also sampled one of the cupcakes without icing. It passed the taste test! haha

lunch medley

lunch medley

* In the car on the way to Mississauga, I had a very large apple for a snack. And then around 4pm while at my Aunt’s House, I had a Melissa’s Bar of Love YouBar for my running fuel. The run was at 6:30pm so I wanted to allow for some digestion time.

always a great snack

always a great snack

*About 45 minutes before the run, I got really hungry again! Normally I would NOT eat so close to a long run but  I was just too hungry. I decided to eat a Quaker Chocolate Chip Granola Bar. I am thankful that it sat very well during the run and it was a good move!

great pickmeup snack

great pickmeup snack

Mississauga 10K Recap- Saturday, May 9

As I said in my post this morning, we woke to an incredible downpour that included giant pieces of hail and thunder and lightning! I was pretty blue about that! It is very unpleasant to run in a downpour and I would have been pretty upset if the cancelled the run altogether. Luckily God was watching over and the storm cleared! The sun even came out! Unfortunately it was VERY windy but I guess the wind was needed to blow the storm clouds away.

I was in a great frame of mind at the start while we waited for the gun to go off. I couldn’t stop yawning though! I was quite tired from staying up late the night before. I was excited though because I had never seen the route before and I think a lot of people would agree a run is much more excitig if you haven’t seen the route before.

The first 5K flew by! It was quite windy but I was still warm. I opted to wear shorts and kept my Nike Dry-Fit lightweight jacket on. I probably could have done without it BUT I was very thankful to have it at the end because the temperature dropped considerably at the end of the race!

I loved the route- gorgeous views along the water (Lake Ontario). I remember one view in particular when you could see all of downtown Toronto in the far distance- it was really nice.

I was quite tired during the final 5K but I pressed on. I completed the race in 50Minutes, 55 Seconds! My finishing time pleased me! The only problem was my left hamstring was (and still is) pretty tight! I need to soak it over the next couple of days. It’s not very painful- it’s just tight.

Words of Advice: always plan an exact location to meet after a race! 🙂 Long story short, we completely lost my aunt and cousins (who walked/ran the 5K). I spent a good 20 minutes looking for them and they were nowhere in site. By the time they got back to their place (substantially later than us), it was too late to stay for a BBQ because the pups were at home needing a walk! (When will they learn to take themselves out? :-p lol)

All and all, the Mississauga 10K was a great experience! Another medal to add to my collection (that I plan to add to for years to come)

a definite runner

a definite runner

me and my (not so little anymore) cousins ready to run

me and my (not so little anymore) cousins ready to run

And finally:

oh yeah! another one done- on to the next

oh yeah! another one done- on to the next

It always feels great to complete a race!! 🙂 It makes every step worth it.

Good luck to my Aunt Sheryl as she walks the Mississauga Half-Marathon tomorrow!!

*I was pretty hungry tonight after returning home and no mood to cook. I did have a Quaker Granola Bar after the race- they were handing them out at the race. I also had a few Jolly Rancher’s and Werthers. Dinner involved leftovers. I had some leftover cashew chicken, some leftover mushrooms whole (yum), Yum Yum’s and a piece of a giant carrot.

check this baby out!

check this baby out!

dinner

dinner

Oh! Before I had dinner I satisfied my (manly? wild?) craving I had for: Beef Jerky! I love Beef Jerky! I don’t know how lady-like that is but I don’t care 🙂

mmmmmmmm salty.

mmmmmmmm salty.

And for dessert: my FAVOURITE frozen yogurt EVER with one of the delicious cupcakes I made. So good!

so so so so so so so so good

so so so so so so so so good

Chapman’s Yogurt Plus Dark Chocolate is my absolute favourite frozen yogurt. There are full chunks of dark chocolate within and the frozen yogurt is very creamy! PLUS: there are probiotics within! 🙂

Okay today has been full and I am getting really tired. I snacked on some Sun Chips while Iwrote this. I want to catch up on my blog reading (I missed reading all of your blogs today!) and then go to bed!

Have a great night!

Published in: on May 10, 2009 at 12:25 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/10/running-with-errr-against-the-wind/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What an awesome day!!
    Love the looks of those cupcakes! 🙂 Want to send some overseas??

    Ps- did you get my email about BSI?

    • Thanks Leah!! I haven’t been in Hotmail in awhile but I will definitely go check! Thanks for the note!

      I would LOVE to send some but I don’t think they would last through the journey haha

      When you come to Chatham next, you’ll have to come to Windsor and I can make you some! 🙂

      • woohoo sounds good to me!!

  2. what a great day! cupcakes and running! best combo ever! and great time on the race! awesome job!

    • Thanks so much! 🙂

  3. wooohoooo, that’s a great run, and you were so fast!!! awesome job staying fueled and energized through the whole thing (despite feeling tired at the end), and congratulations!

    • Thanks Sarah!


Leave a Reply

