Whirlwind…..and homemade pizza!

As you see, I didn’t make it here yesterday unfortunately! I fully intended to but yesterday was really, really busy! Work was crazy and kept me wound up (a lot to do with my friend). Thank GOODNESS it WAS Friday! 🙂

Anne: Always thinking of you and will do what we can again on Monday!! 🙂 We love you!!

Okay so foodwise I was pretty good yesterday.

*I switched up breakfast for the first time in awhile! I was craving cereal and milk quite badly so I packed a box of Total Cranberry Crunch. I picked up the box of Total in the U.S. the last time I was there because I wanted it for a long time and I can’t find it anywhere in Canada (which leads me to believe you can only buy it in the US). I was very attracted to Total cereal because it offers 100% of recommended daily intake of certain vitamins and minerals including: Vitamin E, Iron, Zinc, Calcium, Vitamin C, Folic Acid and a few more. I was very pleased with the taste and would definitely recommend it!!

great cereal

great cereal

Because work got crazy and I was busy rallying my colleagues to fight for my friend, I did not have a mid-morning snack. To be honest, my stomach was a little upset and I was not hungry anyway.

*Lunch came around 12:30pm. I had some leftover cashew chicken and white rice (which I made the previous evening). It was so freakin’ tasty!! I am so glad I take the time to cook my own meals! So much better than buying something or pre-packaged stuff. Wouldn’t you agree??

Melissa' pre-packaged lunch

Melissa' pre-packaged lunch

*I don’t know about you but when I am stressed and wound up, it’s hard to stay focused on work and I tend to try and do a million things at once! ahhh! LOL I got hungry for an afternoon snack around 2:30pm. I first went to grab a Starbucks Iced Coffee (for the third day in a row! haha) It is such a refreshing treat! I also had a Think Organic Apricot Coconut Bar.

The thinkproducts website says:

“Our thinkOrganic™ bars are made with the highest quality organic ingredients that are simple, pure and delicious. We believe pure whole foods are potent. A study published in the Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine reported significantly higher nutrient values in organically grown fruits and vegetables compared to conventionally grown. We harness the power of nature to bring you a delicious source of true vitality.”

I was pleasantly surprised with this bar largely because I have seen disappointing reviews on other blogs for the Think Thin Bars and I had a Peanut Butter Think Bar before and I was also disappointed- it was not peanut buttery at all! BUT I loved the Apricot Coconut flavour and I recommend it! 🙂

chewy sweet bar
chewy sweet bar

Work Out Re-Cap

After my long day, the gym was necessary!! I was so wound up I thought I could run a half marathon in an hour. hahaha I didn’t- obviously because I didn’t want to fly off the treadmill. I kept a nice steady pace during my run.

Running Stats: 1 hour, 6.56 Miles, Average Pace: 9:08 Min/Mil

I was pretty tuckered after that workout and was quite hungry.

Oh! I forgot! I had one more snack prior to going to the gym! I satisfied my sweet tooth with 4 mini Toblerone bars. My mom always send packages around birthdays and holidays and the latest one that came around Easter contained the mini Toblerone bars. I love individual packaged treats-portion control!

melt in your mouth chocolate

melt in your mouth chocolate

* I stopped at the grocery store last night to pick up some veggies and fruit before heading home to cook dinner. I wanted to use up the Dempster’s Spinach Wraps I had so I decided to make a pizza with th spinach wrap acting as the dough! I topped it with some tomato sauce,  turkey pepperoni, red peppers, green peppers, mushrooms, olives, tomatoes and some spices.

prep for pizza

prep for pizza

lookin good!

lookin good!

spices are so necessary

spices are so necessary

I also had to add cheese to make the pizza complete! I popped it in the over for 15-20 minutes and it was such a pleasurable dinner! It tasted so good and was very healthy!! Great way to use up some food around the kitchen!

yummmmmmmmy

yummmmmmmmy

I snacked on these Bick Yum Yum’s while I cooked the pizza. I saw them on sale at the grocery store while standing in line and had to have them!

crunchy sweet

crunchy sweet

I had some random snacks throughout the evening including: a few squares of dark chocolate, Real Fruit Chews, a handful of cashew, and a small bowl of ice cream. Definitely more than I needed but I was a little too tired to care 🙂

We woke up to torrential downpour this morning!! It’s FINALLY clearing up! I really really hope it continues to clear because I have the Mississauga 10K at 6:30pm! I will DEFINITELY be back this evening to blog about my day: what I ate, how the race went. I have to get cleaned up, go grab the rental car, and get ready!

Have a fabulous Saturday!

Published in: on May 9, 2009 at 12:49 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/whirlwind-and-homemade-pizza/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That pizza looks fab!! And of course, well one on the run- as usual! You are so awesome!

  2. Good luck on the run tonight!

  3. hope the 10k went well!

    and i totally agree that making your own food is better than eating packaged stuff … of course. cashew chicken sounds awesome!

    (and i’m the same way — when i’m stressed with lots to do, i turn into an over-the-top multi-tasker … and endup distracting myself from the thing i really should be doing)


Leave a Reply

