Nothing but Natural Beauty…

What a day it has been! πŸ™‚

Unfortunately they were calling for rain but luckily it barely drizzled. We weren’t going to let rain stop us anyway :-p

I got up bright and early again: 7am. I thought it would be a good idea given I have to get up at 5am tomorrow! Oh man that is seriously going to hurt!

We planned to go picked up our race kits at the expo at 10am when it opened up so I had some time to kill. I decided to walk down Robson Street here in Vancouver to find somewhere to eat breakfast. I also wanted to enjoy the views and have a relaxing walk.

*I ended up at a local coffee chain called Blenz Coffee. It is very Starbucks-like but they have more food choices. The only problem is ALL of their food choices come in super duper sizes! All those giant muffins and cookies and brownies and tasty sweets were tempting! I ended up giving into my carby craving and had a seasame seed bagel with cream cheese and strawberry jam for breakfast. I also had a giant cup of coffee. It was sooooooo good. I LOVE bagels. I will always love bagels. haha

carbs are my friend

carbs are my friend

The Blendz I was at was right next to Capers (Whole Foods) and I decided I wanted to pick up a few Clifs Bars so I could munch on one before the run in the morning. I definitely cannot eat a full breakfast that early in the morning. I also picked up some other wonderful things: banana chips, pitted dates and papayas.

tasty treats

tasty treats

After picking up my goodies I met my friends at the hotel and we headed down to the expo near GM PlaceΒ to pick up our race kits. There is always such an air of excitement when it comes to these things! I love it! πŸ™‚

ready to run!

ready to run!

While at the expo, I got hungry. I grabbed a free cup of McDonald’s Coffee. They had a booth at the expo where you could order a cup. I also had a Dare Simple Pleasures Cocoa Chocolate Chip Bar. There was a booth giving these away as well. Other than that, there wasn’t much free goodies! Boo! Usually there is a lot more samples. There wasn’t very much within our kits either. Oh well. The official technical shirt is made by Saucony and it’s actually pretty nice.

morning snack

morning snack

We hit the road to Whistler after picking up our kits and getting a rental car! I was pretty pumped for the drive which was just under 2 hours because I knew the view would be spectacular! I couldn’t believe it but I got hungry AGAIN when we got into the car. I decided to have a giant organicΒ pear for another snack. It was really good! I had picked it up at Capers yesterday.

I just ate the pear

I just ate the pear

I also made the smart choice of wearing comfortable shoes!

proper foot apparel!

proper foot apparel!

NOW for the beautiful part: the drive was so so so so spectucular. If you EVER find yourself in Vancouver you MUST take the drive from Vancouver to Whistler. The landscape was esquisite and breathtaking! The natural beauty of the trees- the windy road-the snow capped mountains-the gorgeous lakes-UNREAL!!Β  The snapshots that follow below do not even begin to capture just how amazing the drive was.

unreal

unreal

amazing landscape

amazing landscape

nature at its best

nature at its best

We stopped in a place called Squamish roughly 50 km outside of Vancouver because we wanted something to eat. I loved Squamish! What a beautiful place to live! I opted to hit up the grocery store and picked up a few things to make my own sandwich for lunch which included a hearty whole grain bun and turkey breast. I also picked up a giant carrot and a banana. I grabbed a few other snack things for along the way. The sandwich was very satisfying!

mmmmm lunch

mmmmm lunch

Squamish, British Columbia

Squamish, British Columbia

We intended to go on the Peak-to-Peak Gondola but unfortunately it doesn’t open for a couple of weeks! Oh well.

Whistler is awesome- a skiier’s heaven! I have never been skiing nor do I ever intend to ski BUT I loved Whistler! The views are spectacular- they have the coolest little shops and all the big name stores and the hotels and places to stay look first class. It is going to be a kick-ass place to be next February (2010) because a lot of the Olympic Events will be hosted there. They couldn’t have picked a better spot!

Whistler, baby!

Whistler, baby!

I was very sleepy on the trip back to Vancouver. I was also in no mood to have pasta for dinner- I am not a huge pasta fan. After walking around a big I decided on a lovely combination for dinner: proscuitto sandwich, pesto pasta salad, and wild rice and spinach salad from Cafe Supreme. It was sooooooo tasty and hit the spot! I was pleased with the choice.

yummy in my tummy

yummy in my tummy

Throughout the day I also snacked on a few things which included: a square of a Zazubean Organic “Flirt” Dark Chocolate Bar: Acai & Cherry, two small pieces of Australian Style Gourmet Liquorice,Β four small pieces of Darrell Lea Soft Eating Mango Liqourice, and four Cadbury Chocolate Cherry Pieces. My sweet tooth at it’s finest! At least I chose semi-healthy options and only had a little of each. πŸ™‚

Organic dark chocolate- yum!

Organic dark chocolate- yum!

soft, chewy liquorice

soft, chewy liquorice

Mango Liquorice!!

Mango Liquorice!!

And last, but not least:

Thank you, chocolate!

Thank you, chocolate!

It’s just after 8pm local time and I am thinking I should really start getting ready for bed. 5am is going to come all too soon and I don’t want to be dragging my bum! πŸ™‚ I should likely pull out my running gear now so too much though isn’t required in the morning.

Have a fabulous evening!! πŸ™‚ I’ll be back after the big run!!

Published in: on May 2, 2009 at 11:09 pm  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/02/nothing-but-natural-beauty/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So many great eats! And that landscape really is gorgeous! What a pretty drive!

    • It was beautiful! πŸ™‚

  2. gorgeous!! GOOD LUCK tomorrow (or today now) πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much!

  3. What a fantastic post! You breakfast sounds divine – and like a good choice at a starbuck-type place. Bagels are divine indeed!

    It sounds like you had an awesome drive to Whistler. Your photos are lovely but like you say, it probably doesn’t compare to seeing it for real!

    I had to giggle at the ‘Australian style’ licorice… I didn’t know we had a ‘style’ of licorice! You learn something new everyday πŸ™‚

    Sounds like you had a wonderful day, and topping it off with a run will be the perfect finish!

    • Thanks very much! πŸ™‚ I appreciate the compliment!

      Have a great day!

  4. Glad you enjoyed the time in our area! Hope you can stay longer next time…
    Here are some 360 virtual tours so you can see more of the sights http://www.tourismsquamish.com/what-see-do/sightseeing

    • Thanks very much! What a gorgeous place! πŸ™‚

  5. That last cadbury candy bar caught my eye – it looks so good! I’ve never been to Vancouver, but it’s definitely on my list of places to visit.

    • The cadbury cherries were very tasty! I crave them from time to time πŸ™‚
      Cadbury in general is very good.

      You should definitely visit Vancouver! It’s such a great city.

  6. What a bunch of great little goodies…yum! I especially like the look of the proscuitto sandwich, pesto pasta salad, and wild rice and spinach salad…slurp! The scenery is lovely as well πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

