Ahh…Vancouver…..oh how I could fall in love with you….

I have been enjoying my time in Vancouver. This is such a gorgeous, beautiful, friendly city. The weather has been our friend! I got so much sun today and it felt soooo good! I was up at the CRACK of dawn this morning. 5am early haha I am clearly still on Toronto time. I decided that since I was up that early, I should seize the opportunity and go for a nice run!

I was planning on running along the “seawall” but I decided against it because I hadn’t had time to explore the city and wasn’t sure where to go and I had no intentions of getting lost or carrying a map while running. haha I went down to the gym and pounded out 5 miles. I kept a slow, steady pace because I definitely did not want to push it. In fact, most people would say not to run this close to a half-marathon.

Stats: 5.26 miles, 50 minutes, 9:30min/mil

* Hunger took over after the run so I quickly got ready and joined my friends for some breakfast. It’s naturally harder to eat when travelling but I attempted to pick hearty, healthy things. I decided on multi-grain toast, cheese an eggs- no butter :-p AND a nice, big coffee at a local breakfast shop near the hotel. We were pretty hungry and we didn’t want to take too much time exploring to find a meal.

hearty breakfast

hearty breakfast

After eating that lovely breakfast, I put some SERIOUS mileage on these feet of mine. I am talking FOUR hours of walking throughout Vancouver! But it was so nice! We first went together along the seawall and Stanley Park. OH MY GOODNESS- so so so so so gorgeous!! I was in Heaven. I am huge fan of nature largely because I grew up surrounded by natural beauty. This part of the four hour walk was quite leisurely and very enjoyable. I got some beautiful shots on the Seawall and in Stanley Park.

Beautiful, beautiful Vancouver

Beautiful, beautiful Vancouver

natural beauty (my surroundings I mean haha)

natural beauty (my surroundings I mean haha)

look at the size of the tree!

look at the size of the tree!

If you ever find yourself in Vancouver, you MUST venture to Stanley Park. After the two hour excursion through the Park , my friends and I parted and I explored the city for two additional hours.  The GPS on the Blackberry is the greatest invention ever!! I could always find a specific location. Unfortunately, I never knew the names of the neighbourhoods I was in but I was not lost.  I saw some great little shops- though I never browsed. I was most interested in enjoying the sunshine and looking at the surroundings. I am still so thankful the weather is great! My feet were starting to ache after 4 hours and I wanted to find something to eat! 🙂

*I planned to hit up a vegan place for lunch but decided against it when I finally found it because it didn’t look like the place for me. I happened to be on the other side of the city so I had a little jaunt to get me back “downtown”. I wanted something healthy so I thought I would hit up Whole Foods. Here in Vancouver,  they call it Capers. Luckily my colleague in Vancouver educated me on that and was nice enough to email me the address while I was out and about walking! 🙂 I FINALLY made it there around 1:30pm and I was quite hungry. I got a Reuban Sandwich with a giant carrot on the side. I also grabbed a natural iced tea. I picked up some grapes too. I remembered to snap a few pictures before I started to feed my hungry belly!

lunch time

lunch time

After my lunch, I came back to the hotel with the intentions of picking up my laptop and hitting a Starbucks. I decided to just connect here at the hotel and post. While at Capers, I also picked up some NRG Orbs which are basically balls of goodness. haha I liked them a lot. I had one of the two I purchased. Very yum!

Ingredient List: Dried Organic Apricots, Organic Apples, Rice Cakes, Organic Maple Syrup, Organic Coconut, Organic Peanut Butter, Organic Sunflower Seeds, Oats, Soy Protein Powder, Sesame Seeds

2 yums up!

2 yums up!

I chilled at the hotel for a bit before meeting up with some colleagues from our Vancouver office. We toured their office (which I prefer to ours!!- they’re view is AWESOME) before heading over to the Cactus Club. The company was awesome so that made it a great time. I limited myself to two glasses of Reisling even though I could have went all night long. haha  We should have planned this better and tagged on the  extra days AFTER the run- not before. haha

*I am sooo mad at myself because I forgot to take a picture of my dinner. It was such a photo-worthy dinner too! I had a large salad that included at least half an avocado, a large piece of grilled chicken, an egg, sweet peppers, tomotoes and mixed greens. It was very good! I wish I had a photo! I did however get a great photo of me and my two colleagues. Good times!

all smiles

all smiles

I have another friend who is here for work and I am supposed to meet her in an hour or so. I don’t know how awake I will be! hahaha

One last thing: I am snacking on another lovely organic snack I picked up at Capers. They are called Kamut Nut Bars and the ingredient list is something to smile about. PLUS they taste AMAZING!! I am going to finish up ONE of the three bars. I am SURE they are Maybe I should only eat half. HAHA

Kamut Nut Bar Ingredient List: Organic Raisins, Organic Kamut, Walnuts, Organic Oatmeal, Coconut, Sea Salt (I ripped part of the list off so I may be missing a few things)

just so good

just so good

It has been such a wonderful day- from start to end! As I said earlier, this trip has reminded me how great it is to travel and explore the world! Tomorrow there are talks about renting a car and driving up to Whistler!! I think I am in for that! 🙂 Tomorrow I will have to be seriously careful about what I eat because I don’t want an upset stomach to impede my run on Sunday. I will likely eat a lot less than I did today but I also don’t plan on running at all or walking for hour hours. I will attempt to eat things in their most natural state, drink tonnes of water, and have pasta for dinner. Sunday morning is going to be rough- the run starts at 7am!!! ouch, ouch, ouch!

Has anyone been to Vancouver?? Or maybe you are from Vancouver?? Do you have any great experiences you want to share?

Have a wonderful evening! 🙂

Published in: on May 1, 2009 at 11:36 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/05/01/ahhvancouveroh-how-i-could-fall-in-love-with-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

