Rain, Rain Go Away!

As you can see, I didn’t make it back here last night. I didn’t get home until 10PM and I was incredibly exhausted. I think I was sleep-walking from the cab into my house.  It was a glorious sleep. Do you find some nights you are just so exhausted from all the goings-on? Monday are always jam packed for me!

* I knew I needed to start the week out right with oatmeal for breakfast. I love how it warms me up and keeps me full for hours.  Lately I have been trying to use up the individual packets of Quaker Oats in a variety of flavours. I generally take one flavoured packet and mix in some plain Quaker Oats from my big bag of oats in my desk. I also top it with some Oat Bran. I feel so healthy from go!

* My mid-morning snack consisted of a juicy, sweet orange. It was actually the one I picked up at the 10K on Saturday and I am so glad I decided to bring it to work yesterday.

my sweet

my sweet

* I was looking forward to my lunch because the Quinoa dish I made on Sunday was on the menu. It is so flavourful! This weekend I will attempt to add the recipes I use to my recipe box! You have to try this one for sure! I also had a small piece of grilled chicken and the last piece of sweet corn on the cob.

the perfect lunch

the perfect lunch

I knew the best way for me NOT to eat all the Peanut Butter Cookies I made on Sunday was to bring them to work. haha They were a huge hit. How can peanut butter cookies with a chocolate centre not be?? 🙂 I stole one peanut butter cookie  for an afternoon snack and put the rest out for everyone else.

delicious

delicious

*I had an additional afternoon snack with a Fuji apple. Fruit makes me happy.

*Monday nights are always spent at the office and as a result my desk turns into my dinner table.  One of my colleagues was sick of where all the guys were ordering dinner from so she suggested an AMAZING alternative: Fresh!

Fresh is a organic vegan restaurant that serves nothing but fresh amazing things! I believe they only have locations in Toronto. If you live in Toronto or come to Toronto, you must go here!

Check out the menu:

http://www.freshrestaurants.ca/pdf/takeaway.pdf

I had the Holiday Wrap which was a whole wheat tortilla wrap stuffed with marinated tofu cubes, red onions, alfalfa sprouts, avocado, tomato, lettuce, cucumber, grated carrots, vegan mayo and aged cheddar! I also had a side salad that had the most interesting ingredients: grated carrots & beets, sunflower sprouts & pumpkin seeds on a bed of greens.

So good! So fresh! So satisfying! I can’t wait to order from there again!

* I wanted a little something sweet for dessert so I opted for a mini granola bar.

Workout Recap

By 8pm, I was feeling quite tired and was not up for a run so I decided to make friends with the elliptical. I find the elliptical much less intense than running but at the same time I feel like I am getting a workout. I got on the machine for an hour at a pretty quick pace. It was refreshing and made me feel much better. I love how the gym does that! I hope to be working out until I’m 90!

Have a fabulous day and I will definitely be back later!

Question: Do you have a stash of food in your drawer at work??

I have all sorts of things including Larabars, Luna bars, mini dark chocolate squares, Quaker bars, crackers, trail mix, etc etc! A lot actually. You never know when you will need a snack! I also always have a few fresh pieces of fruit on top of my desk. Speaking of which, I need to restock that…

Published in: on April 28, 2009 at 9:32 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/04/28/rain-rain-go-away/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have always wanted to try that Dark Chocolate Chex mix!

  2. That lunch does look perfect!
    I need some corn on the cob asap!


Leave a Reply

