No rest for me..

I have been very BUSY all afternoon and into the evening. No rest for me on this Sunday. I decided on what recipes I would make for my lunches for the week. I went to check to see if I had a few things in the cupboard before heading the to grocery store and that ended up turning into a two hour cleaning event! I look at it as a positive because I was able to inventory everything I have in my cupboards and clean everything up and wipe everything down. Check out my awesome spice collection.

spice it up

spice it up

And from another angle:

my collection

my collection

Before I started cooking, I wanted a snack. I had a cereal mix that included Kashi Heart to Heart, Bear Naked Vanilla Granola and Oatmeal Crisp all topped with Soy Milk. I also snuck in a few squares of chocolate throughout the afternoon.  (oooopps!)

C is for Cereal

C is for Cereal

One of the dishes I decided on for my lunches was a recipe for Quinoa with Scallions and Carrots. Quinoa always pleases me and I haven’t had it in awhile.

The first step was to shred and chop some scallions.

chopping block

chopping block

After heating the olive oil in my favourite pan, I sauted the scallions and carrots for about 2 minutes.

starting to smell wonderful

starting to smell wonderful

After 2 minutes, I added the organic quinoa to the pan I had simmered for the previous 15 minutes in a pot.

all together

all together

I wanted to include some protein in my lunch while using up the chicken thighs I had in the fridge. Before cooking the Quinoa dish, I put the thighs in a bowl with some lemon pepper seasoning to allow for the chicken to pick up some of the spices. I sprayed another pan with cooking spray and cooked the thighs for about 10-15 minutes.

nicely browned

nicely browned

Finally, I packed it up in the very convenient re-usable plastic containers ready to take to work!

brown bag it!

brown bag it!

It was time for dinner after all that cooking! I took the some of the Quinoa  dish and put it on a plate. I added a little bit of chicken, some corn on the cob, carrots and baby cucumbers. The Quinoa dish turned out very well! One of the ingredients was orange juice and it complimented the scallions and carrots. Next week I will start adding the recipes I use to my recipe box so you can enjoy too!

mmmmm dinner

mmmmm dinner

Before I even began cooking dinner, I gave into my desire to bake something. I knew the main ingredient had to be peanut butter! I found a great recipe for Peanut Butter Cookies.  Look at the lovely steps and end product:

mix it up

mix it up

looks good

looks good

freshly baked

freshly baked

And a little taste for the chef:

yum

yum

The cookies turned out very well! I used organic crunchy peanut butter and organic spelt flour instead of what the recipe called for. They turned out almost fluffy- so good! And the little chocolate piece on top is the perfect addition. (Note: picture doesn’t include the third cookie I ate- haha)

I can’t believe it’s after 9pm! I haven’t rested at all today and I still have things to do! Have a fabulous evening!

Published in: on April 26, 2009 at 9:15 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/04/26/no-rest-for-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

