An Eventful 24 Hours!

Yesterday was so gorgeous until about 5pm- an awful storm came! I wasn’t surprise given that I had a 10K run this morning. haha

I had a Kashi Go Lean Malted Chocolate  bar while at the GO Station waiting for the train to Burlington. It was REALLY good. It was like I was eating a chocolate bar. I ended up only eating half of it with a coffee. I chowed down on the other half on the GO train.

tasty treat!

tasty treat!

*Soon after getting to Burlington, we decided it was time to eat dinner so our stomachs would settle and everything would be digested for the run in the morning. We kept it very simple with whole wheat pasta and roasted red pepper tomato sauce. It was really good and filled my belly!

running fuel!

running fuel!

I had a relaxing evening with the Wii. We played Dance Dance Revolution- what a blast! So goofy. That is a game I would like to play with a few drinks! haha We also tried the Wii Fit. According to that thing I am not in very good shape. I find it hard to believe given how much I work out and eat properly. Ah well. I also had a small bag of Smart Pop Kettle Corn- one last satisfying snack before bed. We called it an evening quite early because the alarm was going off at 6am!! (on a Sunday!! yikes!)

* I wanted a little bit of fuel before the run but nothing too heavy given how sensitive my stomach is. For breakfast I had the Cliffs Bar- Iced Gingerbread. It was the perfect breakfast before a run.

one last fuel

one last fuel

Run Re-Cap

The official name of the run I participated in this morning was called the Oakville 10K. They had great sponsors! And you know what that means: great goodie bag! We got everything from a toothbrush with a spinning head to New Balance socks to Epsom salts! Plus the official run shirt is great quality!

The temperature was perfect! The sky was still overcast and we were just hoping the rain would hold off. I was very determined to finish the run in under an hour. I succeeded!

Run Stats: (according to Nike Plus): 6.57miles, 51 minutes, 16 seconds, Average Pace: 7:47 min/mil!

I don’t see any official times listed on the website. I am sure that will come out in an email next week sometime. When I was crossing the finish line the clock said 53 minutes roughly. I always stay at the back of the pack so I don’t start exactly during the official start so that may account for the discrepency. At any rate, I am quite proud of myself.

woooo!

woooo!

the bling

the bling

I wasn’t particularly hungry upon finishing the run. I decided I should have a piece of fruit to help with the replenishment.

love bananas!

love bananas!

I felt really good after the run! I always feel like I have accomplished something, especially when it is an organized event. Mike and I made the mandatory stop at Tim Horton’s. I had a coffee and a cinnamon raisin bagel without any toppings. I was satisfied. The shower afterward was wonderful. I was wet and cold from the drizzle.

mmm carby bagel

mmm carby bagel

After returning home, I was already feeling hungry. I wanted to use up one of the whole wheat pitas I purchased last week to assemble some sort of sandwich. I melted some cheese in it and the added some chicken breast and chopped green peppers with a side of baby carrots. Very tasty!! I would have preferred something a little more homemade but I was too hungry to cook.

a simple lunch

a simple lunch

I still have to choose recipes so I can cook my lunch for the week among other things! There are not enouh hours in the day! 🙂 I wanted to bake too. I better get to work because I have a lot I want to accomplish in what remains of Sunday.

Have a great afternoon!

Published in: on April 26, 2009 at 2:14 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/04/26/an-eventful-24-hours/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. inspiration at it’s finest. 🙂

    Good show!

    Mr. American President aka Leader of the Free World

  2. Great job on your race! You were flying!

    • Thanks so much! 🙂


Leave a Reply

