Productive Morning and a Creative Lunch..

This is my typical relationship with cleaning: I say I will take care of one task in particular and it snowballs into a million things and the next thing you know three hours have gone by! The end product is always very pleasing though.

Around 12:30pm, I started to get a little hungry again and it was time I got started on cooking some lunch. I wanted to try something different while using up a few of the items I had in the fridge. Here is what I pulled out:

time to cook!

time to cook!

I ended up pulling out: chicken thighs, pineapple, soya sauce and garlic powder. I was anxious to combine the sweet with the salty to create something pleasing to the tastebuds.

First I diced up some of the gorgeous pineapple:

perfect sweet

perfect sweet

Next I diced up a chicken thigh and applied some garlic powder:

chicken

chicken

I wanted the chicken to cook a little before I added anything else so I put it in a small pan with a little bit of Pam to cook.

smells good

smells good

After about 5-7 minutes, I added the pineapple and just a bit of soya sauce. It was really beginning to smell good!

add some colour

add some colour

To complete the meal, I had the leftover Yam (sweet potato??)/Green Bean dish I made yesterday. I also added some beets, carrots and baby cucumbers. So amazing!

mouth-watering

mouth-watering

And from another angle:

so good

so good

I was very impressed with my creation. It was a tad salty so next time I will dilute the soya sauce a little bit.  All the flavours made my taste buds tingle!

As I mentioned before, I am participating in a 10K race tomorrow. I run 10K a few times a week so I am not worried about it. My main goal is to speed up! I hope my body cooperates! The race is in Oakville so I am going to stay at my friend’s place tonight since he lives closeby. There was no way I was getting up at 5am to get there on a Sunday. It works out because I get to spend time with him- we plan to play the Wii! I am leaving shortly so I had to get my things together.

sataft-008

I also packed some bars so that I can have one tomorrow before the run. I couldn’t decide on one so I packed a few. I may also snack on one on the GO Train on my way to Burlington. I also packed some Smart Pop-Kettle Corn in case we want a snack tonight.

snack time!

snack time!

I also packed my Whole Foods Market Cookbook to read on the train and find some great recipes.

cooking inspirations

cooking inspirations

I also packed this VERY FUNNY book I am reading right now entitled Monkey Business: Swinging Through the Wall Street Jungle By: John Rolfe and Peter Troob. It is very very funny. I highly recommend this book if you work or have worked in investment banking because you will completely get it. I think those who haven’t worked in investment banking would find it funny too- I just find it really funny because I see things that happen in the book, happen in real life. haha

entertainment

entertainment

I also decided it was these shoes that will make me go fast tomorrow:

faster!

faster!

Well I hope everyone is enjoying the beautiful day outside! I am going to head out soon and soak up some sun!

Oh one last food item. I was snacking on this tasty thing while I blogged:

perfect snack

perfect snack

Published in: on April 25, 2009 at 2:45 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/04/25/productive-morning-and-a-creative-lunch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

