Weekly Reflection

Happy Friday Fellow Foodies! 🙂 What an eventful week! It’s amazing how one piece of paper (law school acceptance) can change everything! I also feel so good right now physically and mentally from all the healthy choices I made this week!

On most Fridays I feel a sense of relaxation- today was no exception. A few of the bosses were out of the office so that added to it being an easier day. 🙂

* Breakfast was a large bowl of pretty much the last of the All Bran Strawberry Medley cereal I have at work. This cereal is perfect for me: it offers health while still maintaining a sweet taste. In the next month or so I definitely want to try to make my very own granola!

for my fellow cereal lovers

for my fellow cereal lovers

* My mid-morning snack was a delicious Gala apple. I can never have enough fruit. I actually crave it.

A is for Apple

A is for Apple

* Unfortunately I did not have a homemade dish for lunch. I always have a stash of soup boxes in my drawer at work for emergency situations. I wanted to try one I had not had before: V8 Tomato Herb. I must say that it is definitely not my favourite. It lacked flavour and was almost like watered-down tomato sauce. I MUCH prefer the Knorr soups.

tomato soup

tomato soup

* The soup wasn’t very filling so I had a Hungry Girl Oatmeal Breakfast Cookie right away. Soooo goood! I have to start a page within my blog that holds m favourite recipes. This one will definitely be posted there. Perhaps a weekend project?

Cookie Monster!

Cookie Monster!

* Around 3pm, my hunger returned and I wanted to try something I had not had before. I opened my trusty drawer full of snacks and found a package of the Fibre One Toaster Pastries- Strawberry Flavour that I had picked up in the US the last time I was there. Fibre One products have always pleased me and they kept their good name after I finished this lovely snack with a cup of Peppermint Tea. The Fibre One line also offers great nutrition and TONNES of fibre (hence the name :-p). Most people do not consume enough fibre within a day- perhaps try one of these products?

fill your belly with fibre

fill your belly with fibre

Workout Re-cap

So I snuck away from my desk shortly before 4:30pm-shhh! don’t tell my boss! My energy levels were wonderful and I was looking forward to a steady run!  My main issue with working out at the end of the day is my energy levels tend to drop then. The most optimum workout time is definitely between 10am and 2pm but unfortunately, it is very rare I can leave my desk in between these times. At any rate, I was feeling pretty good at 4:30. There were barely any other ladies at the gym today! (The ladies cardio is seperate from the men’s at my gym). I had a WONDERFUL run.

Stats: 7.1 Miles, 1hour, 5 minutes, Average Pace: 9:08 min/mil

Wahhooo! What a great end to the day!

* On the train ride home, I knew it was time to re-fuel before dinner. I opted for my absolute favourite Quaker Oats Delight bar!  It’s the banana and coconut combination that makes my tastebuds very happy! I also downed so much water. As I said in a previous post, I have roughly 4 Litres per day.

sweeeeeeeeet

sweeeeeeeeet

* The highlight meal of my day was definitely the dinner I prepared! I had envisioned something particular in my head and I succeeded in my endeavour! I swung by the grocery store to pick up a few ingredients for the creation I had in mind: a yam (please help- I always thought sweet potatoes were the same as yams- am I right or wrong???), some onions (I was out), some fresh green beans, and some wonderful spices. I picked up a new spice I have never had before: McCormick Roasted Garlic and Sea Salt with a built in grinder. I was pretty excited about trying it!

added flavour!

added flavour!

I then got out my cutting board and cut the yam into chunks and chopped just under half of an onion.

chop!

chop!

I then got out one of my favourite pans and threw in just over  1 tsp. of olive oil and set it to heat. When it was just right, I added the yam and onion with some of the roasted garlic and sea salt spice.

starting to look good..

starting to look good..

I put a lid on it to allow for the moisture to help cook the yams. After about 10 minutes or so I chopped up some green beans and added them to the mix. It was really beginning to smell amazing and the colours of the veggies looked appetizing!

getting hungrier..

getting hungrier..

In the fridge I still had a piece of the breaded chicken thighs I made yesterday. I always find meat the day after always tastes better because it has time to soak in the seasoning.

re-run from yesterday

re-run from yesterday

I also had a craving for cheese. I know how bad processed cheese is but I really wanted some Cheese Whiz. Sometimes cravings must be dealt with. Does anyone have a healthy, organic alternative to Cheese Whiz?? Please let me know! To justify the Cheese Whiz, I steamed some broccoli and cauliflower. Wonderful combo! I also added some dark purple to my plate via beets. This dinner was by far the best of my week! The yam/onion/green bean dish was out of this world good!! I am still sitting here satisfied with myself and my ability to cook. hehehee

savoury!

savoury!

I hope you are all enjoying your Friday evening! I plan on having a sweet snack now and flipping through some of my many recipe books for some great ideas.. 🙂

Published in: on April 24, 2009 at 9:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/weekly-reflection/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

