A chicken success…

Good Evening! I am definitely pleased tomorrow is the last day of the work week. It has been an eventful week on a variety of fronts. 🙂

Today was a very healthy day!

* On the train this morning on the way to work, I was craving oatmeal for breakfast. I mixed a package of maple and brown sugar Quaker oats with a handful from my giant bag of Quaker oats. I also top it with some Oat Bran to give it a stickier texture. I also needed a cup of Timmy’s coffee this morning because I felt quite tired. I know I shouldn’t rely on caffeine, but it is a little guilty pleasure.

* For my morning snack I went downstairs to the kitchen table to pick up some fruit. I decided to eat a big juicy grapefruit right away. It was sweet and juicy- just perfect.

* For lunch I finished off the last of the Shredded Turkey Couscous Salad  I prepared on Sunday. MMMMM!

flavourful salad..

flavourful salad..

* For my first afternoon snack I was craving chocolate. The last time I was in the US, I purchased the Weight Watchers brownies (more on Weight Watchers in another post- coming soon). The brownies are very good. I am not a huge fan of processed goods, but I don’t mind it once in awhile. Before my snack, I headed to one of the two health food stores in the underground PATH underneath my office tower. I picked up some wonderful Fair Trade & Organic tea called: Pink: Tea for Women’s Health in Cherryberry (top-tier sencha, green tea with cherries, elderberries & blossoms. The tea comes in really neat couture tea sachets. The flavour was amazing!

soothing tea

soothing tea

While at the health food store, I decided to pick up a stainless steel water canister. I was contemplating one for awhile now because the plastic cup (Buffalo Bills cup I got at a game a few years ago- I am not a football fan at all but a live game is awesome- complete with tailgate party!!!!) is pretty worn out. I ended up with this pretty pink one:

save the earth, buy a reusable bottle

save the earth, buy a reusable bottle

* My second afternoon snack was a large Granny Smith apple. Fruit count: 2 woohoo!!

* My third afternoon snack was a piece of Laura Secord milk chocolate. It hit the spot!

my chocolate fix

my chocolate fix

Workout Recap

I felt really good going to the gym. I decided I was up for a run. While on the treadmill, I cranked my music and kept a slow, steady pace and picked it up near the end.

End Result: 6.52 Miles, 1 hour, Average Pace: 9:11 min/mile

I am pleased with it but I don’t know what it is about treadmills. I run much faster outdoors. This weekend I am participating in a 10K and I hope to smoke it and end with an excellent time. Wish me luck! I will definitely post about it on Sunday.

*  My post-workout pick-me-up  was a nice juicy pear. Three pieces of fruit today! Awesome! Unfortunately I do not have a single picture of any of the fruit I ate. I will be more estute in taking pictures of them in the future.

* As I was washing up at the gym I was contemplating what I should cook for dinner. I was craving chicken cooked in a different way. At the grocery store I picked up thighs. I then took some breadcrumbs and spices and dipped the chicken in them and put them in a frying pan with a little bit of Pam

taste buds watering

taste buds watering

I also had a craving of cauliflower and broccoli. I picked up some from the frozen food section because I didn’t want to wait forever for the fresh versions to steam. I finished up some of the corn on the cob and a spoonful of a Lipton Sidekick. I wanted some more veggies so I made a side salad with mixed greens, shredded carrots, tomotoes, red peppers and sprouts tossed in a soy dressing. The chicken was sooooooooo tasty. I added some cajun spices. It was just so good. I am glad I have an extra piece for tomorrow’s lunch.

so much flavour

so much flavour

* And finally as I type this, I am munchy on a little nighttime snack: a little chocolate fix.

a perfect end to the day

a perfect end to the day

Well tomorrow is Friday and I am sure I am not the only happy one! I hope you have a great evening!

Published in: on April 23, 2009 at 9:50 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/04/23/a-chicken-success/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oooo I love couscous!! Also, I know what you mean about running faster outdoors vs. on treadmills – I’m always 1-2 minutes faster outdoors…what is it about those darn treadmills?? 🙂

    • I think it’s because we fear that we won’t last as long if we speed it up on the treadmill 🙂 I sometimes run a full mile or more faster! (i.e. 1 hour to 6.5 miles on the treadmill, 50 mins to run 6.5 outside! haha! Perhaps I should just stick to running outside!)

  2. Wow, great workout today!
    I run faster outside as well!

    You’ll do great this weekend!!

  3. I have that tea too! In the Pommberry flavour! i love love love it!


Leave a Reply

