Good Happy Wonderful Evening! :-)

Well I am still on a cloud regarding the law school news. It feels REALLY good to finally move on to the next chapter. I am fortunate enough to have amazing colleagues and they were all very happy for me. To be honest, not a lot of work was done today. haha That’s okay- tomorrow I will get back on track!

Today was wonderful healthwise. 🙂 I wasn’t very hungry first thing in the morning probably due to the mixture of eating a late night snack and being excited about law school. 🙂

* Breakfast  was a large bowl of All-Bran Strawberry Medley cereal. I highly recommend this brand. It is definitely not like the traditional all-bran your grandmother eats. haha There are pieces of strawberries and squares in addition to All Bran flakes.  If you are looking for something that is healthy and tasty, you should give this brand a whirl.

I missed my mid-morning snack because of all the excitement and because Mike and I made a trip up to the Eaton’s Centre to hit up Sport Chek. Given that I got rid of my favourite shoes last week *sob sob*, I was due for a new pair! It is amazing how many brands/styles/colours of runners there are these days! Unbelievable. I did find the exact same brand and style (Nike Vomero’s) as the pair I threw out- just a newer model. I even tried them on BUT I decided it was time for a change. I pronate so I wanted a shoe that offered more support fot my precious knees. I opted for a pair of Mizuno’s! I have never owned a pair before- they offer great support, they are super light AND incredibly comfortable.  I haven’t tried them out yet but I most certainly will soon. I want to work them in before the half-marathon I am running in less than two weeks! More on that later. Check these babies out:

new kicks!

new kicks!

* Lunch  was a repeat of Monday: the Mediterranean Turkey Burgers stuffed with feta. Very enjoyable!

tastiness

tastiness

* After a few hours, it was time for my first afternoon snack. I pulled out a trusty Hungry Girl Oatmeal cookie and brewed a cup of raspberry chocolate herbal tea.

cookie monster

cookie monster

* I thought it was best if I had another afternoon snack before hitting the gym. I opted for some calcium rich yogurt. I am glad I picked up quite a few Yoplait Light’s in the US. Today I had the Boston Cream Pie flavour! My tongue was pleased!

Yoplait!

Yoplait!

Workout Re-cap:

Today working out felt really good. I wanted to take a break from running so I ended up going for 45 minutes on the elliptical trainer. Afterward I did 45 minutes of strength/core training. Strength training is so important for balanced health and fitness. A lot of women have this misconception that if they train with weights, they will “gain weight” and “bulk up”. This is completely false. I started really focussing on weight/strength training last September and I am really proud of how much stronger I have gotten! I was pretty weak before. Last September I did the fitness test my gym offers and my strength level was embarassing! My cardio fitness was unbelievable BUT strength is just as important. I decided I had to tone down on my cardio and pick up some weights! I made a very smart decision and hired a trainer. My trainer C is the greatest trainer! She is just awesome. I always feel SO worked after an hour with her. She always switches things up so it’s never boring. A friend of mine said that his trainer did the same things week after week- that would be horrible! C always challenges me and she has total faith in my ability to get stronger. She has been on vacation in Africa for the last couple of weeks so I have had a break. haha I know there will be a lot of pain when she returns! haha In addition to meeting with  her once a week,  I attempt to work out with weights/core exercises two other times each week on my own- at the very least one other time. I have found that with my muscle improvements, I have become a better runner.

* My post-workout snack consisted of a delicious square of chocolate! Yummy! I teamed it with a bottle of Aquafina grape flavoured water. These drinks are great- flavourful and only 5 calories!

* I was quite hungry when I reached home. Before I got home, I stopped at the grocery store for a few veggies. I wanted to put something together quickly so I could eat. I first took some sweet corn on the cobs and put them to boil. I then made a wonderful salad which included: mixed greens, sliced tomatoes, a baby cucumber, shredded carrots, and onion sprouts tossed in Kraft’s Raspberry Vinagrette (probably my favourite dressing!). I also cooked up a Garden Burger and put it atop a whole wheat english muffin with some mixed greens and mayo. Sooo goood!

dinner

dinner

* For dessert I had a tasty cup of cherry cheesecake.

sweet

sweet

Do you keep track of what you eat with recording it somewhere? I do. I like to mostly to ensure I am getting enough vitamins and minerals and protein. It’s also good for reflection to find out what is working and what is not if you are trying to lose or gain or maintain weight or simply to see how what you eat effects how you feel.

Here’s my lovely journal:

food journal

food journal

I also like to record how much water I am drinking and a reminder to take a daily multi-vitamin.

inside my journal

inside my journal

I should get my things together for tomorrow. Have a great evening!

Published in: on April 22, 2009 at 9:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/04/22/good-happy-wonderful-evening/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

