On the couch reflecting…

Good evening! What a day! It was quite busy and then I hit a wall around 4pm. I could have fallen asleep at my desk. I think it is the after effects of being woken up Sunday in the middle of the night. Generally when I hit the afternoon wall, I eat something and then work out and that always results in 100% improvement…not today…

Menu Re-Cap

* Breakfast again was a large bowl of oats.  I finally brought a “real” bowl to work so I don’t have to get out of a Tubberware container. I must say I prefer it. It makes eating at work seem less of a burden. I think tomorrow I should switch it up…let’s see how I feel in the morning.

* My mid-morning snack  was another beautiful, delicious Fuji apple. I love fruit so much. I try to incorporate at least 2-3 fresh pieces per day.

 

 

an apple a day...

an apple a day...

 

 

* Lunch came early and I dug into the Shredded Turkey Couscous Salad I made on Sunday. The homemade dressing was very tasty and whole-wheat couscous always pleases my tastebuds.

colourful goodness

colourful goodness

* Shortly after 2pm, I started to get hungry again so I pulled out some more fruit: strawberries and pineapples. I bought a whole pineapple so it will be making a lot of appearances this week.

tasty

tasty

* And shortly after that, I had the other half of my Odwalla Superfood Bar I opened up last night with a cup of green tea. I am a huge fan of these bars. Definitely grab one if you have the opportunity.

choc full of Superfoods...

choc full of Superfoods...

* I was also very pleased to get my bi-monthly copy of Canadian Running in the mail. I was even more thrilled to find a free sample of Jelly Belly Sport Beans in the Fruit Punch flavour! I decided that I would have these 100cal beans full of carbs prior to my workout. The package says they are best when taken while working out but since it was my first time eating them, I wanted to give them time to digest. I flipped through the magazine on the train ride home and I am particularly interested in the article on whole grains..

good read plus energy!

good read plus energy!

* I had one final snack before my workout: a nice square of Laura Secord Milk Chocolate! Yum! I cannot say enough about the brilliance of individually packing squares of chocolate to prevent one (me) from eating the entire bar. 🙂

chocolate...of course

chocolate...of course

Work-out Recap:

As I said, I went to the gym feeling tired even though I fueled with some snacks. Generally once I get on the treadmill (or machine of choice), I start feeling great 20-30mins in. Today this was not the case. I was dragging ass but being the stubborn individual that I am, I pressed onwards..

Distance: 6.46 miles, Time: 1 Hour, Average Page: 9:16 min/mile

Tomorrow I don’t plan on running to take a break but I want to go to my boxing class.

* I finally got home around 7:30pm and I wanted to throw something together for dinner relatively quickly because I was hungry! I looked in the fridge for some veggies and chopped up some broccoli, sweet red peppers and parsley and went into the freezer for some frozen peas and corn and threw all of it into a pan with some low sodium chicken broth and some garlic seasoning. I intended to also use my leftover ground turkey but it went bad even though the expiry isn’t for another couple of days! I was NOT impressed with that. After about 5-10mins, I pulled the veggies off the stove and added some of the leftover whole wheat couscous to make a fabulous dish! On the side I had some carrots and a whole wheat english muffin with cheese. It was a wonderful dinner!

balanced dinner

balanced dinner

I may have one last snack to satisfy my sweet tooth…I will also be back shortly to post about running and the health books I have been reading…. 🙂

Published in: on April 21, 2009 at 8:50 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/04/21/on-the-couch-reflecting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

