Phew! End of Day!

Good Evening! 🙂 Mondays are always a long one for me! I literally just got home. I often work late on Monday nights and then I like to hit the gym afterward. It is so great going to the gym at 8pm because there is hardly anyone around! It is quite relaxing.

My appetite was sparse today. I think it was due to the dull, rainy weather.

Menu re-cap:

* Breakfast: I had a nice bowl of oatmeal: banana bread flavour mixed with plain oatmeal and oatbran. I also had a nice cup of coffee to go with it. The coffee was needed this morning because the darn fire alarm started going off at 3am?!?! Nothing is worse than being woken up in the middle of the night for nothing. I believe someone was pulling the alarm…..so annoying! I live in a condo—not a university dorm 🙂 HAHA

* My mid-morning snack consisted of a Fuji apple. It was really juicy!

beautiful apple

beautiful apple

* Lunch came quickly and my stomach was telling me it was time to taste the Mediterranean Turkey Burgers I made yesterday! I teams the feta stuffed burger with a pita and some mixed greens and roasted red peppers. It was VERY good. If you would like the recipe, please leave me a comment and I will gladly forward it to you. It was very easy to make.

a taste of the Mediterranean....

a taste of the Mediterranean....

* Shortly after lunch, I had my first afternoon snack. I pulled out the tubberware container of chopped up pineapple and strawberries. They are both definitely in season because they were perfect-sweet. 🙂

gorgeous fruit

gorgeous fruit

*After a few hours of paperwork, I decided it was time to re-fuel again. I was craving another of those Hungry Girl Breakfast Cookies I made over the weekend. I can’t go on enough about how satisfying these are. I got the recipe off of the Hungry Girl website.

a cookie for me..

a cookie for me..

* I am the Queen of snacks so naturally I had to have one more afternoon snack  before dinner. I was lacking calcium so I opted for another Yoplait yogurt. This time I had the delicious Strawberry Shortcake flavour! Amazing!

mmmm creamy

mmmm creamy

As I mentioned in the “About Melissa” section, I work at an investment bank and in such an environment, people work long hours ALL OF THE TIME. As a result, there are some individuals who literally eat every meal at the bank. I am fortunate enough to only have to do this on occasion (except certain times of year when I am there all of the time). We do group dinner orders at night but tonight I just was not feeling what they were ordering. As much selection as there is out there, ordering food gets old. I much prefer homemade goodness. The bad weather prompted my craving for soup. I wasn’t in the mood to go search for some so I just pulled out the trust box of Gardennay Butternut Squash I had in my drawer. Okay- if you haven’t had any of the Gardennay’s, you definitely have to. They are very tasty for pre-made soups! My taste buds were pleased with the choice.

* For dessert I had another Quaker Delight bar in the macademia, toasted coconut, banana flavour. Good job, Quaker!! I LOVE this bar.

mmmmmmmmm

mmmmmmmmm

* After my workout, I felt that I should eat something because I have been reading a great book of Food and Fitness by Chris Carmichael (he trains Lance Armstrong, among others).  *As a side, I absolutely love reading books on food and nutrition- the more knowledge, the better.*I can speak more on the book later but he stresses the importance of fueling with carbs even after a workout. There is much more substance to the book but that is the point that came to mind as I finished my workout tonight.

great book

great book

Workout Stats:  1 Hour on the Elliptical trainer at a level 5. Calories burned: 685 (according the the machine- not sure of the accuracy). It was a relaxing workout with my tunes going and the televisions on silly shows. 🙂 I intended on doing some strength training as well, but as I said earlier that fire alarm kept me up in the middle of the night and I was feeling pretty tired after 1 hour on the elliptical.

* In the taxi on the ride home, I had my post-workout snack: a half the of the Odwalla Superfood Bar. All the bars from the Odwalla line are incredibly tasty and dense!! If you haven’t tried them, I highly recommend that you do. I also love the ingredient list for the bars- you can actually identify each of the ingredients! They are also rich in nutrients such as Vitamin E, Calcium and Folate. If you are a bar person like me, you will love them.

monday-007

On another note, about two weeks ago I ordered some personalized bars on the YouBar website (www.youbars.com) however I am a little upset because according to the shipment email, they were delivered at the end of last week but I haven’t seen them yet! Tomorrow I will try and contact a rep to see what can be done.  Do you have any other suggestions on how I should go about tracking my bars down? YouBar is based in the US and I am in Canada and I paid with PayPal. I got a shipment tracking email from the US Postal service but the tracking was vague and the last message I got said “they were delivered in Canada”- nice and broad! I have faith I will see the personalized bars I created so I am not too upset about it. I imagine they taste fabulous! 🙂 Wish me luck and any advice with how to track them down would be appreciated.

Have a wonderful evening!

Published in: on April 20, 2009 at 10:35 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fortheloveofhealth.wordpress.com/2009/04/20/phew-end-of-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

